We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good”

LA Fonda Mexican Foods
Ranked #70 of 762 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant that just moved into Tempe from Scottsdale. Very cute inside, but limited parking and kind of a strip-mall feel outside. This wait staff was very good. The food was average. I have had much better mexican food at other places when visiting Arizona. Spinach enchiladas are on the menu however and they are hard to come by at many restaurants. We had a large group, had fun and enjoyed the atmosphere. Good for families.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
418 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Has moved to 1831 E Baseline Rd, Tempe”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant has moved to 1831 E Baseline Rd in Tempe. The new location is super cute and has great ambiance. Other than that, it's average. The chips are served nice and warm and they are tasty. The accompanying salsa is okay. The only thing that impressed me was their margarita menu; options, options, and more options. However, the margaritas are pricey so I stuck with the house margarita. It had an interesting flavor; couldn't quite figure out what made it taste differently. I found the entrees to be slightly overpriced. Although good, none in our party of 4 really raved about their meal.The machaca dinner had way too many large onion pieces in it. This made us think it was this way to make one think one was getting a large meal but by the time you actually looked at the amount of meat, it was a small meal. The fish tacos were missing something although we couldn't put our finger on it. The red cheese enchiladas were good as they had a lot of cheese. We opted for dessert of which the fried ice cream lacked a thick enough coating on the outside to even consider it tasty. The sopapillas were average and on the small side. Service was lacking all the way through. We went on a Sunday early evening so there shouldn't have been any excuse for adequate, good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bkbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good time”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This restaurant is new to the neighborhood and is now the closest mexican food to my house. i have been there a couple of times now and the food is pretty good (4/5). It has a nice open room to sit in with interesting decor and the service has been prompt and attentive. The hot sauce, my judge of a decent mexican restaurant is tasty, not too hot, but with a bit of spice. The salsa tastes fresh and the chips are also good. The one and only negative I have is the house fruit margarita was not that tasty, but hey, I should have upgraded. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
264 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good, inexpensive, mexican food”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Not only do you get chips and salsa with every meal, but the chips are warm like they just made them. If there is a wait to get in - well worth it. We waited about 10-15 mins and was worth every minute and then some. We will go back next time in Scottsdale.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This restaurant was walking distance from our hotel. I had steak fajitas that were very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant has been in the family for about 40 years -- so it has withstood the test of time. No fancy atmosphere -- but good food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Fonda Mexican Foods also viewed

 

Been to LA Fonda Mexican Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing