We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience, good host.”
Review of Royal Taj - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Taj
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
783 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 706 helpful votes
“Good ambience, good host.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is good and the buffet was okay. The roti was good and the the curries were okay. They gave us hot hot naans but the garlic smell was too much. The hostess was were kind and friendly.
The rice pudding and jamoon looked okay. But it was kept next to chicken dish and i could not eat as I am a strict vegetarian. It would be nice if the veg and non-veg are kept separately. This would help for vegans and vegetarians.
The cost of the buffet was okay. But can add some more items on the salad items.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The staff was nice, for the most part, food was good. Bhindi Masala was yummy, so was Dal Maharani, Baingan ka bharta, not so much. The breads and the non vegetarian food was mostly good. If we are in the area, we will go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suburb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were spending a night at Tempe and ordered food for takeout at this restaurant. The Dal Maharani was great, and the Karahi Tandoori Chicken Saag was pretty good too. The Aloo Gobhi was just average though, and the Basmati rice left a lot to be desired. So overall a mixed bag!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wishicudtravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great little restaurant..”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our friends took me and my husband to the Royal Taj months ago, and we were hooked ever since. Our most recent trip was in March 2011. We and our friends have always been very happy with our food. Portions, flavors and ingredients have been consistent. The food comes out hot and wonderful. The mango lassi was so good, my toddler drank half of my order! Not too sweet, not too creamy.. just right. The wait and service staff seem to be a family, and not all of them speak really great English, so if you have problems with accents, it may make things interesting (luckily, you can always just point at the description). This last time, our waiter spoke pretty good English. With 2 full meals, including naan (bread) and drinks, our bill usually tallies up to around $40-45 after tax, and we walk out totally stuffed. The basmati rice is fantastic, and is one of the only places I will even eat rice. The "special naan" is one of my favorites, and I highly recommend it (it's a sweet flat bread filled with coconut, sugar, spices and pistacchio nuts). Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“decent Indian food”
Reviewed November 16, 2007

decent Indian food

Helpful?
Thank TravisNScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing