We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the wave pool, concessions not so much!”
Review of Kiwanis Park

Kiwanis Park
Ranked #11 of 58 things to do in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love the wave pool, concessions not so much!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great staff, service, water! We had fun and stayed longer than I planned. Very nice facility. I don't know what it is about food concessions at pools. The City could hire out for this easily. The prices were high, $6 for 2 small funnel cakes, small like the palm of my hand. Overcooked too! $4 for a small paper tray of fries. Took 20 mins for the fries after was quoted 10 mins at the time of order. Not busy at the time, and fries take maybe 3 mins to cook. It seemed the boys working it were maybe lifeguards (?).
Bottom line: go for the pool-not the food!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Visit the wave pool”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had so much fun at the wave pool. We were visiting Phoenix in July, so looking for some indoor activities were a must and we decided that the wave pool would be just the place to spend our afternoon. The area around the pool was warm and the water was refreshing, but not cold. We rented 2 tubes for our children (age 13 and 11), but we didn't use them for much of the afternoon. Water is ankle deep to about 6 feet - so if you are planning on going out deep - then a tube might be required. The waves out deeper are rolling, but my 11 year old liked to stand about hip deep when the waves were on. They also had a slide which the kids could go on when the waves were not on which was also lots of fun. They have a lot of life guards on duty as well. We spent about 2 hours there for a cost of $35 (including the tubes). It was crazy busy but a lot of fun. Double check the hours they are open as I believe they go back to just weekends in August....worth checking out if you are looking for some fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a family day”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Lived near this park for many years and walked many miles around the lake. I always felt safe ( maybe it was my German Shepherd) no matter what time of day it was. Lots of family activity on the weekends-- birthday parties, family fishing, picnics, soccer, etc. Usually very clean with no scary folks lurking around. Park was built in the early 1970's and is showing its age a little. City of Tempe is planning a revival in the near future. Great to hear because I still like this park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“LARGE park”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

this park has alot, a lake for fishing, feeding docs, an indoor pool wave pool. lots of sports activities on weekends. Ramadas, with BBQs, peaceful areas to just hang out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank world-gypsy-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“LOVE trekking the lake engages all the senses”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's communal and though I keep to the area around the lake I revel in the diversity this park draws. The ducks the paddle boats, the sounds the smells the runners, fishermen, walkers, strollers--all are welcome this is an integrated commUnity park, love it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwanis Park also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kiwanis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing