We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Higher Expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Peaks Restaurant

Four Peaks Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 725 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Higher Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Based on the TA reviews, we had higher expectations than the actual experience for a Friday lunch. No question that the beer and food is good, but would rather see smaller food portions at a lower price. Our server was superb. Coupled with the noise din, lack of adequate parking and a dingy, dark interior where it was difficult to read the menu, there are so many other better alternatives in that part of the city. In terms of brew pubs I like supporting a local enterprise, but others offer equally good food, beer and an overall nicer dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    193
    40
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Terrific service, great food and atmosphere. Crowd spanned all ages. Service was extremely attentive and there were great food choices, something for everyone. Despite a comment by a previous reviewer, this is not located in a "sketchy" area, just college apartments. I believe all parking is on the street and in the neighborhood. We did not see any parking lot specifically for the restaurant. It was fun to find their beers at other places we ate at over the time of our trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy - just great food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Was somewhat hesitant to stay with the kids once we got there. On a Saturday night, it was very much a college drinking crowd with a considerable wait. But, despite the full house and general loudness, we had a great meal. The service was terrific. My husband had a beer, then tried another kind. He did not like his second selection and it was promptly exchanged at no charge, no questions asked. The carne adovada was delicious. The huge portion size could easily have been shared. All in all, a great restaurant with great food and great service if you don't mind crowds, noise and "industrial" atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bndakidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fun ASU area microbrew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by before a concert at the Marquee about a mile away. This is a big space near ASU with indoor and outdoor seating, a big bar, TVs. The lively crowd at 4:30 on Friday was mostly 20ish but all ages. I was very comfortable with my kids here. The two IPAs and the Scottish Ale were very nice. Salads, burgers and pizza were all good. Portions are big. I'd return for the stmosphere and beer. Parking is on the street, so you may need to walk a liitle as the crowd thickens.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank entrejoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun brewery with great food and tons of atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every time we travel to Phoenix we try to make time for Four Peaks. Loud and young atmosphere near the university in an otherwise quite neighbourhood (parking can be tough); the beers are first-rate, the food (especially the appetizers) is great and the service hectic but friendly. We usually have to wait a little while, but it is well worth it. Make sure to leave room for the Stoutamisu at the end of your meal. The misters in the summertime make the outside seating bearable. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Peaks Restaurant also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Four Peaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing