We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful Hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Terrible mistake booking in here! Supposed to have a no smoking room but everything stank of nicotine! Bed base was filthy as were curtains etc. Could not sleep as they have long term boarders in their rooms which were roaming round the place with dogs and we just did not feel safe staying so were out first thing in the morning! Reported our feelings before leaving and will not be making the same mistake again with this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillyLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
2
8
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very nice place, i was there for a few days, place was very clean,Romo smell good, kitchenette very usefull, has all you need, staff is greate, housekeeping did a grate job everything day that I was there my Room got cleaned, and the location is perfect right next to the I-10.
I would defenetly stay here in my next visit to Phoenix.
And they have closets.
It is my understanding there has been a change in managment looks like is working.

Room Tip: Rooms on the center of the buildings are larger still one bed but larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Check in was fast and courteous. Night time security . But the room needs help. Prominent rust in the tub. Carpets need a good deep cleaning. Bed was ok. The bathroom towels were stained.
Good price and no frills....it's a motel 6 frills are not to be expected.
I don't think I will return

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There is not enough space here to describe the horribleness of this property, which looks fine from the outside. (Well, not really. the corridor walkways would need a blow torch as to get rid of the accumulated scum.) Generally -- everything is old, worn out, dirty, broken or malfunctioing here. I will be somewhat kind, and save the specifics for the letters I am writing to the managers and corporate HQ's. Let's just say the room interiors have never been "refreshed" for the history of the property, which has to be at least 10 years -- or as long as the Studio 6 concept has existed. The final, crowing insult -- as I was leaving, I used the lavatory. The toilet clogged. How appropriate, how symbolic of this visit.

Room Tip: If my room was an indicator, there aren't any good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tempe hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I Have stayed here before. Good value. Nice location. Only one maid service for weekly. Petitioner friendly but i have not been charged $50 pet fee at any Motel 6 before as they advertise pet friendly. Nice pet area. Quiet nobody bothered me. Close to Arizona Mills and some conveniences. Easy access from highway. Staff has been courteous. This motel has long term guests living there. They need to update and deep clean their rooms are dirty in need of cleaning. More regular maid service would be helpful. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I relocated to Tempe, AZ in August of this year from Wisconsin. I called myself doing alot of research on this extended stay hotel and saw a couple of bad reviews, but did not listen..after all the pictures makes it look amazing. Please be advised to listen to not only my review but the others that was placed this year alone. Let's start with the staff/management..horrible to say it nicely.

The Clientele, I had absolutely no idea what me and my seven year-old daughter was in for. How about several nights of Tempe police visits due to all the fights, drugs and prostitution. I feel like an idiot as I really did not pay attention. This is not a family place, please do not go there if you have a family. Trust me when I tell you get what you pay for at this place. The hotel has been in the news unnamed for all of the illegal activity taking place. I left immediately and was refunded my money so I am not writing this review out of malice. I really want other unsuspecting people to know that cheap in this case is not going to be the good way to go. Aside from the horrible air conditioners, dirty carpet, and several bed bug incidents its not worth it! Pay the extra money for the safety and better staff. I also have written and spoken to corporate, Accor, who operates this place and they are well aware of the issues.

Studio 6 needs a total make-over from the staff except shaunte! to the filthy rooms. The assistant manager lives on the property with kids, this amazes me! I am very happy that I left and just want others especially those traveling from other states to know.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My experience at Studio 6 Tempe is consistent with most all of my other Motel 6 & Studio 6 experiences, bad.


The rooms are small and cramped. Carpets are filthy and leave your feet black. AC units when used to heat set off smoke alarms since they are never cleaned and emit stinky greasy food stench.

Houskeepers and repair staff do odd things like kick on the kitchen countertop in opposing rooms sending the cooktop flying and of course making a lot of noise.

Other guests and the parking are loud, horns going off all the time, slamming of doors, and so on.

Police like to visit now and again to arrest hookers.

Avoid this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.5 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#21 of 47 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe

Property: Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe
Address: 4909 S Wendler Dr, I-10 at Baseline, Tempe, AZ 85282-6310
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe 1*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio 6 Tempe is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit AMC Ahwatukee, South Mountain Preserve and Diablo Stadium. Enjoy WIFI in all modern guest rooms for $4.95 per stay, outdoor heated pool, coin laundry and fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing