We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Quality Inn Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Kensmt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not up to Quality Inn Standards”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I pulled in to this hotel because of the Quality Inn reputation. I did pay Quality Inn prices but got more of a 'hotel with a number in it's name" experience. After waiting to check in while they explained that a room reserved by anoyher guest was not ready at 4:30 in the afternoon. I finally got checked in. My room (206) had a rumpled bed that looked like someone had been laying on it. I was in a hurry to get to a show (reason I was in town) so I let that go. The air conditioner fan in the room squeeked all the time so I shut it off. (didn't get back to the room until midnight and didn't want it fussed with by someone who didn't know what they were doing) The room was not really clean to the standards I expect from a Quality Inn. The carpet is worn and stained, and the bathroom fixtures are so old the chrome is worn off from cleaning. They were cheap low end fixtures. There is paint over run form a poor repaint job. The room had very basic cheap hotel furnishings in general. The bed was so-so and the sheets were well past needing replacement. If you are used to the usual higher end you get from Quality Inn you won't be particulaly pleased with this hotel. I expect 4 star amenities and service from a Quality Inn and this was place was 2 star at best.

Room Tip: room 206 had allot of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
10
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Finding the hotel was slightly problematic. My GPS said I had arrived but I couldn't see the hotel. I turned round and drove back down the road, I saw a badly positioned and slightly obscured sign for the hotel.

The receptionist (I presume a student at ASU) was very nice and helpful. Judging by the room, I presume this place used to be a Microtel Inn. It was big enough (just) for one night and close enough to the airport.

Breakfast was a little lacking - no decaf and only 1 slice of wheat bread - and I was down at 07:00 on a Sunday!

I don't know if the person who checked me out was a cleaner but she wore a dirty, ripped T-shirt/sweatshirt and what looked like jogging pants. Not the sort of image I would have thought you would want to give to guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my first stay. I had a very early arrival and the owner/manager was extremely helpful in getting a room ready for me. He is extremely polite and a wonderful owner who works hard. His staff and family always smiled. I loved seeing one of his desk clerks studying college courses while he was working but always would say hello/good evening as I returned.

The room, 304, was small, but was fine. I felt is was clean and was fresh smelling. The sheets however on one day had stains on them, pretty obvious ones and some hairs were in the bathroom floor. That was one day only and the bed linens afterwards were fine. Housekeeping though did not knock twice while entering, She did not just come in, it was a knock and enter instead of a knock and await a response.

Great closet!

Breakfast was nice, the pool refreshing although some new furniture is probably needed. All in all I would return.

DO NOT BOOK this hotel on a travel website. Call them directly and see what kind of price you can get after your quoted a price on the travel website. He will give you a discount and you then have the flexibility of not paying in full, not having refunds, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentino93933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I've stayed here twice - once 3 years ago and this past weekend. Comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and accommodating. When I am in Tempe - this is always going to be my go-to. I want a place that is clean - and this is. I want a place that smells nice. This is not fancy - it is ENTIRELY comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

very nice midnight staff very cute room! 302 very nice pool very decent morning breakfast... I very much enjoyed this stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very nice place to stay. We weren't in the room very long as we had many events to attend. Great location if you want to take a taxi to mill ave or see a concert at Tempe beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2HotnSaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had 3 rooms booked for Spring Training. Good location for all that we wanted to do on a 4 day weekend. Friendly staff, quick check-in and very accomodating. Clean and quiet. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#34 of 52 in Tempe
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
1.3 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at ASU-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at ASU-Airport

Property: Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Address: 1375 E University Dr, Tempe, AZ 85281-8463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at ASU-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn at ASU-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Asu-Airport Hotel Tempe
Quality Inn Tempe
Tempe Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing