We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Overall this is an average Candlewood Suites and it came with the usual things I've come to expect. We had some problems in the room but it wasn't a big deal and it was fixed fairly quickly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

These towels will tear you up pretty bad if you don't rub your body gently. My torso was reddened, but after the first day, I just dabbed myself dry. They are striped and cause itching. Everything else at the hotel was excellent. The free laundry makes up for thev lack of breakfast, but they do offer free coffee (Maxwell House) in the AM and all day for that matter. They have a large amount of convenience store stuff also and that unusual honor system to pay for things. Not sure about making us pay for tea bags, but you can also cook and stuff in the room. The beds were great and it is a nice property overall.

Room Tip: 330 has nobody on both sides
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is not a bad hotel. The room furniture and bathroom are renovated and pretty nice. I had a "queen bed" room. The bed seems a little small - almost felt like a full size bed - for some reason. The space next to the bed is a little tight.

The location is convenient but not really close to the action of Tempe.

It seems 1/2 of the 3rd floor is smoking so beware if you don't like smoke.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the smoking section if you don't like smoke. Unfortunately the smoking...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is fine but I still can not get over when the desk staff is not trained to acknowledge a PLATINUM MEMBER......this is just a major flaw in training,,,,this is such a major part of Candlewood Suites programs, there is no excuse for this poor treatment of your best clients......TRAIN YOUR STAFF

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glendale215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear glendale215,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hits: location was great, room was spacious and had lots of storage space, furnishings and appliances were in above average shape, bed was fine and hot water was hot. Mini kitchen was very convenient, especially with multiple supermarkets nearby.

Misses : fridge cycled frequently & was fairly loud, HVAC cycled more frequently and was louder still, and toilet ran every 10 minutes or so with a high pitched whine that I first mistook for the buzz of a travel alarm. Kitchen sink stopper didn't work, nor did bathtub drain plug.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToutLeMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear ToutLeMonde,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noises had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I spent a night here and was pleasantly surprised by the great customer service, especially when I was checking in. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was very nice. And all of this for a great rate. I will definitely look to stay in this hotel on future trips when I have to travel between Phoenix and Tucson.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADS2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my first time staying at an Candlewood Suites location. I was pleasantly surprised. Due to last minute schedule change I arrived at the hotel to at 8 am to meet some associates. I asked the front desk if I could pre-check in just in case I returned late that evening. But the hotel did me one better they had a room available and they allowed me to check in at 8am. Not many places will allow you to check in that early. The Room was nice and large for the one person. I had almost a kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, fridge and 2 burner stove. The room had a large bathroom and FREE laundry machines. Now that almost never happens. The establishment really made my day and since it was the first day of the week that I spent there. It really made my week. I definitely will stay at this Candlewood Suites the next time I am in the area. Plus, there are plenty of food locations and a huge mall just across the street. Everything I needed was right there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe
Residence Inn Tempe
#34 of 52 in Tempe
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Address: 1335 W Baseline Rd, Tempe, AZ 85283-1160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $78 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel is located in South Tempe on Baseline Road near I-10 exit. Conveniently located just 3 miles north of the only IKEA in Arizona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe Hotel Tempe
Candlewood Suites Tempe
Candlewood Tempe
Tempe Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing