We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not particularly bad or good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Nothing about this hotel was particularly bad or good. A few hairs in the bathroom, super-thin walls, slamming doors that shook the pictures on the wall, limited cable stations, no breakfast, etc. were drawbacks. However, for the price it was not all that bad, the folks at the front desk were friendly and helpful, and the hotel felt fresh and newer than others in its price point. It's in a strange location, in the midst of a business park, with no restaurants within walking distance, but that's not the end of the world either. I'd probably stay there again, if price were the deciding factor.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Red Roof Inn. We were in Tempe to take in some spring training baseball. . This is a modern hotel is in a very good location. It's less than a ten minute drive from the Phoenix airport., and about a mile from the Tempe ballpark. Although you do not get a lot of amenities here, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. This hotel is an absolute bargain! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSD069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night, the night before a noon flight home from Sky Harbor. We had a hell of a time finding this place. 3 calls to the front desk were not much help. We followed their directions (gotten prior to leaving home), and also Mapquest, and still had difficulty. They need to improve or revamp their directions they give to people. The room was clean, comfortable and the corner desk (a room we did not ask for, but got anyway) was very convenient. It is a pretty hotel, with a nice lawn and flowers. We did not see the pool. Parking was good.

Now the problems: We arrived to a line up of people, waiting to register. This was a Monday night about 7:30 PM. There was one young lady working the desk. She was a new employee from what I could guess. She was confused, nervous, and did not know a lot about the hotel. We could see why our directional questions were poorly given. The phone was ringing off the hook, and management should have had an idea that this situation could occur. They were very busy, and the poor girl did not have the help, backup or experience to work this out. If she is not new, she needs more training or another job. It took us about 30 minutes to get our room and we were 3rd in line. There was at least 3 people behind us, and 2 were still there 45 minutes later.

Big problem: A businessman had scheduled a group of people for a stay of 15 days at this hotel, and had done so because of having a laundry available, at least partially had done so, anyway. He waited patiently while this young lady waited on all of us, and finally she simply asked him what he wanted. He wanted directions to the laundry, which is on their website, and on the map of the hotel, sitting on the front desk. She just looked at him dumbfounded, and said there is no laundry, and didn't give any explanation or apology, as far as we could hear. He told her about the map of the hotel sitting right there in front of her and she ignored it. I hope he complained big time to the manager and got a good deal from the management. I told him he should complain, and he said he was going to. I would be upset also. Others were complaining too, about other things, one being the internet connection. Obviously, the staff needs to improve at this hotel. At check out the next morning, I asked if their was a manager around, and was told yes, but they would not let me talk to him, and the young man at the front desk this time just stared back at me when I made a few suggestions. Oh well, can't win them all. I would not stay here again, though the hotel is clean and nicely redone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

I stayed here for one night after flying in to Phoenix, and leaving the next day. It was very good value for a very reasonable price, basic but clean...no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This hotel is definitely a step up from your average Red Roof Inn. The staff was exceptionally friendly, polite, and helpful.

The only problem is, you aren't getting any extras. There's no business center, and wireless internet will cost you $9.99 a day through the T-Mobile hotspot service (there's also some kind of monthly bundle price, but no weekly).

The location is quiet but mundane, with nothing too close by to walk to.

The rate I had here was $95, which was too much, especially with no free internet. If you could get a rate under $80, then this place would be worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jessotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

The property is the best Red Roof that I have ever stayed in. The property is brand new, the staff is friendly and efficient and the facilities are nice. A real value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cyberworld Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Phoenix to see a museum exhibit. The hotel had been recently renovated, and it was quite nice. The building was very clean and quiet, and the front desk staff was very friendly. There was fresh coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. It was also in a good location, mostly surrounded by other hotels and office buildings; overall a very safe and secure area. Additionally, it was a short drive to the downtown area which has lots of nice shops and restaurants.
The only problem we had was a slow-draining shower. Even after we complained about it, it wasn't fixed, so we were stuck taking quick-as-possible showers.
Shower problems aside, it was a positive experience, and I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean, updated hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumblybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
3 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
4 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#32 of 53 in Tempe
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport

Address: 2135 W 15th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6942 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $65 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe – Phoenix Airportt, AZ is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to Phoenix International Airport (PHX) and Arizona State University. The hotel is also close to Diablo Stadium (spring training camp for the Los Angeles Angels), Talking Stick Resort Arena (Phoenix Suns basketball), Scottsdale Stadium, Phoenix Zoo and Firebird International Raceway and just 25 minutes from University of Phoenix Stadium. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, high-end bedding, flooring, and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Red Roof Inn Tempe
Tempe Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing