We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New. Safe. Basic. Acceptable. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Tough to find safe areas around the sky harbor airport. We had reservations at a days inn and if you don't mind smoking rooms and used syringes in the parking lot it's for you. This red roof inn is in a cluster of hotels five miles from the airport and even closer to the car rental return area. In this cluster all the hotels are newer and area is clean and safe. The Sheraton is in this cluster with an extended stay America hotel. I would have stayed at the Sheraton had I known. The red roof is the newest design. Very friendly staff. Rooms are basic like a motel six. No breakfast. Coffee in the lobby is good. Plenty of parking near the door. No airport shuttle. For the price $89 this was not a great value but it was very clean and safe.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you for your words of praise. It is truly rewarding to know that you were satisfied with the location of the Inn, friendly staff, and close to where you needed to be. Our goal is to provide outstanding dependable service at a reasonable price.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for one-week at this hotel. Everyone there did everything they could to make us happy. The original room we were in was not perfect (no shower curtain and had a very musty smell) but they quickly moved a refrigerator into another room and moved us without question.
Not a 4-star hotel, but very comfortable and worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport. It is truly rewarding when our guest recognize the efforts of the staff and take the time to tell about it. It is reviews like yours that makes their day!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed four nights. Overall it wasn't bad but there were a few things I complained about. Door to the bathroom would not close. Apparently there was at one time a leak on the floor above and the bathroom ceiling over the shower was very unappealing as it looked like it was about to fall. Wi-Fi system is very low grade. It was extremely slow but a majority of the time I could not connect to the internet since there was no wi-fi signal in the room. Staff said hotel was sold out and a lot of people are using it and when that happens it's very slow. If it was an up to date system it would be capable of serving all guests. Even between 2 and 3 a.m. I could not get a signal or connect. I've stayed at Red Roof in the past and never encountered a problem so I was surprised I did at this particular location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

I would like to apologize for the condition of the bathroom door and can assure you that we have already taken actions to correct the problem. As for the internet service, I am working with our internet provider on the speed of the service. Our goal is to provide outstanding dependable service at a reasonable price. We read all of our reviews and value your opinion.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is really not bad, but it would be easy to be better.
The hotel location is great, but the area is somewhat commercial and you need a car to get to most food options.
The staff was friendly during check in, but indifferent to the guests comments on several topics.
Elevator is almost the slowest thing in the hotel....except for the internet. They were very aware of this but we saw several guests complain about internet with no reaction from staff.
The place was packed and the crowd was mildly rowdy. The hints of the rowdiness were the numerous cases of empty beer bottles by the back door cleared by housekeeping.
Air conditioning worked well.
The bathroom seemed updated.
The TV was new and fine.
A taxi to airport costs $16- It seems this the only area hotel to NOT offer airport shuttle service.
Slow elevator,terrible Internet & no airport shuttle are my memories.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

On behalf of the staff, I am writing to let you know that we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. A friendly staff and a good location is something that we take pride in. I am very sorry that the elevator seemed to be slow and I will be looking into that with our service contractor.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel was easy to find and in a secure location with a well lit parking lot. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are perhaps a little dated but spotless. We arrived late and just needed a place to crash near the airport until we continued our journey in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Great service depends on the staff members willing to give their very best at all times. I am glad to hear that the location of the inn, well lit parking lot, friendly & helpful staff, and a clean room is just what you were looking for. Our goal is to provide dependable service at a reasonable price.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to you next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was on a business trip. The internet speed is so slow, I couldn't work at all from my room. Made many phone calls to the support desk without any success. The room itself is fine, clean and quiet. But not being able to do I was there to do drives me crazy.

Room Tip: If you require good internet speed bring your own data card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimXQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

I would like to apologize for the experience of internet service during your recent stay. Each and every guest put their trust in my staff to deliver outstanding service and I can assure you that I will be contacting our internet provider to do the same. I understand your frustrations as your experience did not meet your expectations and I truly hope that you will give us another chance.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed one night in march 2014... Had a deluxe king with micro and fridge... Room was clean, and everything was in working order...Tv, although a recently new hd, only received standard def... Otherwise no problems to speak of....Common areas were in good shape, although lots of air freshener on my floor... Usually a sign of people smoking in non-smoking rooms.... For what it is, I would stay there again assuming I got a reasonable rate...

Room Tip: For a little extra, get the micro and fridge, its worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benefits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The staff always enjoys positive feedback from our guests and it is reviews like yours that makes their day.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
2.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
4 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#29 of 53 in Tempe
147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport

Address: 2135 W 15th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6942 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe – Phoenix Airportt, AZ is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to Phoenix International Airport (PHX) and Arizona State University. The hotel is also close to Diablo Stadium (spring training camp for the Los Angeles Angels), Talking Stick Resort Arena (Phoenix Suns basketball), Scottsdale Stadium, Phoenix Zoo and Firebird International Raceway and just 25 minutes from University of Phoenix Stadium. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, high-end bedding, flooring, and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Red Roof Inn Tempe
Tempe Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing