We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I just checked out today after a 10 day stay. I had a wonderful time staying here. My room was great and had no problems there.

I would like to single out the staff at property 265. Nora, who works there is fantastic. She really is helpful to guests and knows how to handle their needs. She goes above and beyond for us. She is a fine example of how to work a front desk and I hope Red Roof is able to keep her for a long time.

I feel the same way about Angelique, who like Nora is one of the friendliest front desk people I have ever encountered. She was so helpful in getting the things I needed or help with. And went out of her way to help me in regards to carrying my things so I could leave.

I do apologize for not remembering the other names of the staff I encountered. But they were great as well.

The only improvements this property would need is more internet towers. The internet slows down vastly at night. Which is I assume to more guests staying in at night. Otherwise, the internet does run fast than most Hotels internet a majority of the time. Just needs that extra tower for night time.

And maybe put a laundry room in. I had to take 2 buses to get to a laundry cycle place. It would be easier for me if I could stay where I am at and do the laundry.

Otherwise, this is a fantastic hotel, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Getting two beds is cheaper, but you wont get a refridgerator with it. So keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your words of praise about Nora & Angelique. It is truly rewarding when our guest recognizes the staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. As for the internet, it has been upgraded last week so there should not be any more issues. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    111
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
54
74
62
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went to this hotel during October. We checked in smoothly. The front desk attendant was very nice. The elevator makes a terrifying noise when you go up or down. We got into our room. It was nice when compared to the price. We had a view of the pool. However the room we were in had a clogged up bathtub and we called the front to have it snaked or something. The maintenance people came in during the day but the tub was still draining slowly.

The location was close to all of the places we wanted to visit. It was slightly difficult to find the turn for the hotel. One thing that many reviewers didn't mention about the hotel is the breakfast. There is no breakfast. There is ONLY coffee. We stayed for three days and everything went smoothly. The checkout was easy. Clean room, clean bathroom, and comfy rooms for the price. I would still stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
On behalf of the Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, I would like to personally thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide dependable service at a reasonable price. I apologize for the problem with the slow drain and appreciate you letting us know. The entire staff enjoys feedback and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upon my arrival late at night, there was a large hair on the back of the toilet seat. It was still there 4 days later.
There were hairs in the bed sheets, probably from the washing machine. After they changed the sheets, there were other hairs in the sheets, even some eyelashes.
That made me scrutinize the towels which did not smell of bleach. Perhaps the bleach was completely rinsed out of them. I actually feel comfortable if I know the towels & sheets are bleached.
As others mentioned the wireless internet worked slow or actually stopped ("unable to find website Google.com")
These things made it feel sort of like Motel 6.
If the aforementioned things were clean, I would have liked my stay. I really really should have submitted the comment card which had the maid's name written on it. I stayed on the second floor, I think it was room 215.
I guess the room was quiet but I was distracted by the problems above.
I stayed in a Red Roof Inn in San Francisco and it was not like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixdude1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I would like to apologize for your experience at our inn. Each guest puts their trust in my staff to deliver outstanding dependable service and we make it our priority to exceed guest expectations and provide a comfortable place to stay while you are our guest. Our reviews hopefully reflect our commitment to this philosophy. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I live in Tucson and had an early morning flight out of Phoenix Sky Harbor. I found this hotel for $44/night on hotels.com. For that price, I wasn't expecting much. However, the hotel was very clean, quiet, and was only a 5-minute drive from the airport. I will definitely stay here again when I fly out of Phoenix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcat85705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your words of praise. It’s truly rewarding when our guests recognizes the staff’s efforts, and takes the time to tell about them. The staff always enjoys positive feedback from our guests on the clean & quiet room they had while visiting us and it is reviews like yours that makes their day.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

nice furniture, clean room, and excellent services at a fair price. The room was big compared to other Inns I had stayed at. It is also very close to the airport. About less than 10 minutes drive to Arizona State University.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Che K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
On behalf of our, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your review on your recent stay with us. Great service and a clean room is our goal at a reasonable price. The staff is thrilled and looks forward to your next visit.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Room was decently clean, bed was comfortable, towels were nasty & left white pieces all over you when you used them. Pool area was nice, pool was great, everything there was clean. Needed internet & it was pretty much non-existant. Front desk said 4 hotels in the area share a connection which impressed me even less. Upon recommendation from the front desk clerk (thank you!!) we took our lap top over to the Sheraton where they have a bar & full restaurant & free great wi-fi. Overall the value was good for the price paid, but they need to invest in new towels & real internet!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqjanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide outstanding dependable service at a reasonable price. We read all of our reviews and value our guest opinion. As for the problems with the internet service, I would like to apologize for the experience and we are currently in the process of upgrading that service.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed at this location the last two years, each visit I am there about a week and I will be there again this October. It is a nice place to stay, great value and the staff is great and very helpful. Make sure you stay here when in Tempe!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words of praise. Great service, helpful staff, and a great value are what brings our guests coming back, year after year. It is truly rewarding when our guests recognize the hard work of the entire staff and takes the time to let us know.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#22 of 47 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
2.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Address: 2135 W 15th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport, AZ is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to Phoenix International Airport (PHX) and Arizona State University. The hotel is also close to Diablo Stadium (spring training camp for the Los Angeles Angels), U.S. Airways Center (Phoenix Suns basketball), Scottsdale Stadium, Phoenix Zoo and Firebird International Raceway and just 25 minutes from University of Phoenix Stadium. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, high-end bedding and a large, flat-screen TV. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tempe - Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Red Roof Inn Tempe
Tempe Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing