We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good room and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always good room and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This Hyatt place is consistent with the few other ones I stayed.
You know what you will get – a large clean room with a good desk to work on, a big TV to watch and a big coach section as well as a good bed and a clean bathroom. Then you have the complimentary breakfast with a good section. All this in a contemporary design with a goof and friendly staff.
This one is fairly close to the airport and not far from Tempe center. In fact a good location to go around as you are close to the express way as well.
Yes there is not a lot to look at around the hotel but for what I had to do it was good enough as
I had few meetings to attend in Scottsdale but as I had to take an earlier flight out this location was better for my schedule and going to Scottsdale was about 1/2h drive.

Room Tip: I think if you have a room with an even No you will look over the river as the other side looks at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    164
    92
    44
    27
See reviews for
166
84
43
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This isn't the newest hotel available, but they really seem to work hard to keep their customers happy. The included breakfast is a step above the norm. Van service the airport works like clockwork. We would definitely return. The hotel staff and the clean rooms make it a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilattheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was a spur of the moment, one-night stay over. Normally I avoid hotels near airports, especially those that seem to be just a few degrees off the flight path, because the jet noise during flying hours can become pretty annoying. At this Hyatt Place, no noise whatsoever. There was a large gathering of grade school kids and their parents and that's usually a warning sign to avoid the breakfast area. Not so here! Staff kept the place clean, the food refreshed, and sanity maintained. Yes, it's one of the older Hyatt Place properties and could use some refurbishing but for this trip it was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Some impressive staff people made it work.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel faces airport and flight paths. My room faced the parking lot and was absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consumerchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a very nice room with a balcony overlooking the airport (3rd floor). As I found out later, I was in one of the remodeled rooms. My business associates stayed in the older rooms and found that they were old and worn. So as a hint, ask for the remodeled section when you choose to stay there. It is incredibly convenient to the airport and Tempe. Walking paths close by. Shuttle to the airport runs regularly in the morning. It is also available for services to the many restaurants and attractions within a 5 mile radius. There is no restaurant in the hotel but they do have a food and drink available with a small bar set in the lobby adjacent to the check in desk - the staff mans both and do a good job of it. The breakfast included was one of the better I've ever had at a place like this. Staff was friendly and helpful. Airport noise was present, but not obtrusive. I'd stay again. Finally, the cost was very reasonable for a metro area but we did get the business discount made possible by one of the local businesses we visited.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyGolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room was fine, but the service from management was mixed, with the female assistant manager acting in a very unprofessional and insulting manner. The shuttle service from the airport was problematic, as it stood us up after a long wait time and multiple phone calls to the hotel property. Then, upon arriving at the hotel via cab (at the suggestion of the hotel), the female assistant manager boldly claimed that the shuttle driver waited for us at PHX and we weren't in the designated location (effectively blaming the problem on us), which is completely false. In addition, despite being told by hotel staff that the hotel would cover the cost of a cab due to the poor shuttle service,and despite being met by a hotel employee who could clearly see the stated $16 minimum fare from PHX listed on the outside of the cab, the assistant manager ended up stiffing us on a part of the cab fare, since the actual mileage came to just over 12 bucks.

The few bucks for the cab discrepancy is one thing. To have your integrity challenged (as to our location for meeting the shuttle) by an assistant manager is quite disturbing. To their credit, the other assistant manager, who handled our check out the next morning, was much more professional, acknowledging that the minimum cab fare is widely known by hotel staff, and affirming that we were where we said we were. So, be warned that there is quite a discrepancy concerning the leadership staff of the hotel. Despite my wonderful experiences with other Hyatt hotels across the country, we won't stay at this one again. There are too many other nice hotels in the area to waste time with this property. The female asst. manager ultimately offered to give some bonus points for our inconvenience, but those haven't posted to the account yet, and I have little hope they'll follow through.

Room Tip: Upper floor room was quiet, which was nice, despite full occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Staff was excellent. They were able to provide places and attractions. I was able to have some fun while I was there. The breakfast was excellent, and the area was clean. I was able to get a room for really cheap due to corporate pricing. With the pricing and service. The hotel was close to the airport and a few other places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jieun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a 10 year old half renovation of something much older and it shows. Sofa stained, carpet worn in room, shower tiles not renovated and very old and grout stained. It's a budget hotel but there are new Marriotts a few blocks away in downtown Tempe and an Aloft at the airport not far from this place. The Hyatt Place room layout was cute 10 years ago but doesn't work now. I use the giant sofa to hold my luggage and the tiny drawers in the closet I don't understand. The safe actually has a key; haven't seen that in a decade! Best part was the excellent staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
1.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport
1.0 mi away
Hilton Phoenix Airport
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Address: 1413 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tempe
#13 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Hyatt Tempe
Tempe Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing