We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As good as a chain gets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
American Southwest
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“As good as a chain gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We generally steer clear of chains, high end or low end. But we've always made an exception for Hyatt Place. It is the same place where ever we've stayed. But in this case, that's a good thing. This location suited our travel plans. It was identical to other locations we've visited. Attractive informal lobby and check in. Attentive personable staff. Same room, same level of cleanliness and maintenance. While not a true suite, separate living and sleeping areas. Great desk and chair, flat screen with high tech extras, very clean bathroom. All what we've come to expect. Pretty good continental breakfast as well with one hot dish and lots of healthy choices.

We like the chain and this property certainly was up to their high standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    140
    73
    33
    22
See reviews for
128
64
37
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Checked in fairly late, the gentleman at reception was very personable. He was even there when I left in the morning - still cheerful and all smiles. The room was better than expected - really liked the functional work/relaxation space and the input panel on the wall to hook in HDMI/etc to the TV (great for watching Netflix/etc). Internet was very quick (perhaps the fastest of any non-boutique hotel I've frequented) and didn't require multiple annoying logins. Breakfast was the tastiest and most balanced I've seen from other hotels in this price range. This is my new favorite hotel in the Tempe area, will certainly frequent it again when visiting for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great location for the airport. We dropped our rental car off the night before and took the shuttle to the airport in the morning. So easy! Staff was very friendly. Not much in the area, but you could use the shuttle to get around. We had a nightcap and some soup at the little hotel bar in the lobby, which was handy. Our room was what you expect from a Hyatt Place. It was clean and a good size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portsmouth_yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
215 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hyatt Place Tempe hotel. It is near the airport, and our room on the south side was away from the landing/takeoff pattern, so there was no airplane noise.

We have stayed in other Hyatt Place hotels, so the layout of the room was very familiar. We enjoyed the free Wifi, and the spaciousness of the room. As with the other Hyatt Place hotel, the toilet/shower room has a door which is difficult to open and close without moving around in that room.

We had our own rent-a-car, so we didn't use the complimentary shuttle. As others have said, there is nothing really close by, so transportation is needed for local restaurants, etc. But we again enjoyed the free breakfast before our early morning departure.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family of seven stayed there the last night of our week long holiday to beautiful Arizona and the Grand Canyon and we very impressed. Not knowing the area, coming from Canada we just chose this hotel on line because of the webpage and closeness to the airport and they didn't disappoint us. From the cleanliness, to the happy staff that greeted us, to Eric the complimentary drivers that took us to the mall and then to Monti's Steakhouse that night (complimentary shuttle within 5 miles to hotel- excellent stress free service), to the great breakfast with a good assortment not to mention the reasonable price. If we are ever this way again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midreshet Ben-Gurion, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is outstanding by any standards. A courtesy shuttle picked me up at the airport and conveyed me to various business meetings for the following 3 days, and to downtown restaurants in the evenings, and finally, back to the airport - not from the hotel but from the venue of my meeting: All free of charge! Service was friendly. Continental breakfast contained a rich assortment of offerings. Desk service was friendly and unusually helpful. Room was excellent in every way. The first time I've stayed at a hotel with absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidOfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Five of us stayed here for two nights in August while moving my daughter into ASU. There are many good things about this place; cafe and bar in the lobby, generous breakfast in the morning, and free WiFi. However, there was a maintenance problem in the room we originally reserved so they moved us to an accessible room. After taking a shower water leaks into the bedroom leaving the carpet wet all the time. Renting movies each night proved to be a major hassle--the movies often stop playing half way through. Finally, at check out, they could not give me a print out of my bill to confirm the charges. They told me this is because we booked with a third party (priceline.com). They claimed they would email me the bill and I'm still waiting for it several weeks later. I must admit that the price we paid was great, but this time of year in Tempe all the hotels have great prices, so I'll likely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
1.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Address: 1413 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tempe
#13 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Hyatt Tempe
Tempe Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing