We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room location is important here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“room location is important here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

We stayed here Friday and Saturday nights, March 23 & 24, 2007.
The hotel's location was good for us as we were attending an event at the town lake. The suite was spacious and well-furnished, and the king bed was very comfortable.

However, our room (102) was located right beside Scottsdale Road, which is a very noisy street, with many motorcycles as well as other vehicles passing by. Even with earplugs I was bothered by the street noise. The hotel was full so I was unable to get another room.

The hotel offers a "hot breakfast" but both Saturday and Sunday morning there were no eggs, which I was counting on. The hot food both days was some kind of sausage, and bad-tasting waffle sticks Sunday, and French toast sticks Saturday that I didn't try. I don't like continental breakfast fare and I'm a vegetarian, so I was disappointed. However the coffee was good and there were bananas.

  • Liked — Nicely furnished suite with comfie bed
  • Disliked — Rooms on Scottsdale Rd. get a lot of street noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    249
    87
    54
    20
See reviews for
288
216
84
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

We booked this hotel because it was convenient for our business stay. Later, we were happy to discover that they provided free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were somewhat concerned because the property, although apparently well maintained, seemed older and there was outside access to the rooms. We voiced this concern to the manager at the front desk, who informed us that a security officer would be on duty around the clock.

Although I think the property is a little overpriced because of this, we found it to be more than satisfactory in every other way. First of all, the doors all face the courtyards or pools, not the parking lots, which did make a difference. When we entered our king suite, I must say, we were very impressed. It was very nicely furnished, actually more like a resort than a hotel. It was very clean and had been recently updated, and there were lots of little extras: dishes, pots, pans, a fridge, microwave, extra toiletries, free internet, etc. Our room faced a pool, there are several on the property, which was also well maintained and quiet! Breakfast was very nice and included hot and cold items as well as extra beverage choices. Every employee, from the shuttle driver to the groundskeeper, was polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Room, convenient location
  • Disliked — Outside access
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tezoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2007

the hotel was very nice, especially for a hampton. its motel style, with doors opening to the outside, but they all face an inner courtyard with palm trees, and some face the pool too. we had a suite with 2 very comfortable queen beds, and pull out couch. the fridge was pretty big, and it was nice having 2 tvs, and the room was a steal at only $143/night. its within (long) walking distance of arizona state and the bars and restraunts in tempe, and theres a shuttle and also a park nearby. the staff was great as well, and the breakfast was like other hampton continental breakfast, with a couple of entrees (eggs, waffles, breakfast meats, etc). there's only one computer which is kind of a hassle, but theres free wireless, and i saw the front desk printing off a few thing for guests. i would definitley stay there again if i return.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sammy0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

Rooms are spacious, well decorated, and comfortable. Beds are heaven. Bathroom is immaculate and completely modern. 2 TVs, fridge/freezer, microwave, helpful and efficient staff, pleasant lobby. Full walk-in closet. Hotel is pet friendly (I got lots of compliments on my bichon frise).

The room doors open to the outside (actually, to an interior open courtyard), which may be a turnoff for some travelers, but I never felt unsafe as walkways were well lit and were not exposed to the street.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — exterior doors
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessCeprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

One word to describe this place: Excellent! When we checked in we were upgraded to a suite room for free (we stayed with HHonors points anyway, 7500 points for this, though it may have gone up June 1st), Also given cold water bottles as it was over 100 degrees that day. The room was gigantic. Two rooms really; one with beds and one with a couch and table. Even had a kitchen and fridge. Beds were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was nice. AC worked great thankfully. Kind of a different style, more of a resort...some place you would stay a long time, though we stayed only one night. Only thing missing was the ocean! Palm trees, two pools and everything. Huge, spread out place as well. Very friendly staff; especially at breakfast (which was also excellent and included some hot items as well), we got complimentary mints. We also heard them say those suite rooms were $118 to someone else...great price for what you get! Only complaint was the ice machine which was a little annoying due to the blocking piece of plastic that would slide down as you tried to hold it up and get the ice at the same time. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joeiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

Being only 4 miles from Sky Harbor and even closer to downtown Scottsdale and ASU, the location was perfect. The facility itself presents very nice and very clean. We had a King Suite which was very spacious. The bed was extremlely comfortable and it was nice having a full-sized tub, not just a shower stall. There was adequate room when my two son's and their girlfriends came to visit. The breakfast was about average, with both hot and cold selections. Overall, I rate this Hampton Inn as a good value.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dengay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2005

This is the second time in eight years that I have stayed at this Hampton Inn. I now remember, why I don't stay here more often. My main complaint is that the walls are SO THIN you can hear conversations and TV's quite easily. Also, the bathroom in the Suites are very small.
On the other hand, the front desk help was very friendly and helpful. A lightbulb was burnt out and they were up to replace it within 5 minutes, also the battery in the smoke detector was beeping, they took care of that problem promptly.
The extra room is nice, however, would I stay here again? Probably Not

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
5.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
8.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing