We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It, Would Stay Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love It, Would Stay Again!”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I was in the Phoenix area for business and did not want to stay in Phoenix so I choose a hotel near some business clients in the Tempe area.

The hotel is very unique for a Hampton. The lobby was a bit small but very nice. The check in was quick and the staff were pleasant.

The hotel is made up of different corridors, where you access your room from the outside. It may sound kind of motelish without seeing the setup however it is not at all. They gave us a room on the second floor with a view of the pool. The room was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in for a Hampton. It had two double beds. The one bed was almost right against the window and the other bed you could step out of and be in the bathroom. The nice part was that the sink and vanity was not in the bathroom which makes it nice for more than one person getting ready. The room had a nice flat screen TV, with coffee maker and fridge. They had complimentary snacks in the room which I thought was a nice touch. Besides the room being small, I thought it was good.

The pool was nice and clean. They provided towels at the pool area. Between the corridors of the hotel were several seating areas all arranged very pleasantly with great landscaping. The one corridor had a nice putting green.

The breakfast area was one of the best parts of the hotel. Even though the hotel doesn't have much of a view of anything but buildings, the outside breakfast area made for a nice touch. You had your choice of seating inside or outside on a very nice covered patio with flat screen TV's, tables, chairs, and couches. Of course for those chilly mornings there were outside heaters. The breakfast was good. The usual for any Hampton Inn breakfast (i.e. a few hot items, along with pastries, toast, bagels, cereal, juice & coffee).

The hotel had free parking and there was plenty of space.

I had stayed at this hotel for one night and went to a different hotel the next three nights to be in the Glendale area. I would have much rather been at this hotel and just put up with the extra driving back and forth. Great hotel all together. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitr2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    270
    91
    56
    21
See reviews for
313
233
87
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I stay in a lot of Hampton Inns as I travel frequently for business and generally choose this chain. I selected this property over the Hampton in Mesa due to the better TripAdvisor reviews for the Tempe location.

The location is close to major freeways, ASU (obviously), and services. The hotel itself was a bit more "motel-ish" than other Hamptons I've stayed in recently. The property is made up of several three-level buildings with outside corridors leading to rooms.

I had a standard king room and was surprised by how small it was. Impressive, though, was the flat-panel TV. The bed and furnishings were typical Hampton Inn quality (nice) and the room, as usual with Hamptons, was spotless. This chain knows how to train housekeeping staff and maintain high standards across the entire chain.

I was really disappointed, though, in the noise transfer between rooms. I could hear, with amazing clarity, the phone conversation of the room next door ... and she seemed to be talking in a normal-toned voice. I could easily hear people walking above me, too. For me, personally, this made the property less desirable.

This property still seems to be one of the top ranked Hamptons in the area and the price I paid was very competitive.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small rooms and thin walls
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

I am writing this as I am still at the hotel.. Fast & very friendly check in. The rooms are extremely small, but the comfortable bed makes up for that. The bathroom is big with the vanity set up around the corner outside of the bathroom. One can shower while someone else can get ready at the sink .The biggest downfall was the noise.. With the outdoor corridors, you can hear every guest returning to their rooms whether it is day or night.. We are here for Spring Training so I'm sure there may be a few spring breakers partying. The walls and ceiling are super thin.. There must have been a family above us with children, as I heard every little step. We decided to check out a day early and the staff didn't charge us for our final day. That's a plus.. They do offer a complimentary breakfast, which we only got coffee and a muffin. They do offer eggs and bacon. Didn't use the pool, but it is decent size and quite a few kids were enjoying it. Also offers wireless which I did use. The location is really close to ASU and downtown Tempe.. Great bars and nightlife. AC alittle loud. If I was to stay here again, would probably try a suite for alittle more space, but the noise may keep me away. I am giving this place an above average rating due to the staff's customer service. Friendly & competent is hard to find somethimes.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dodgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Loved the suite, the staff was very friendly and helpful, loved the shuttle service to the airport, pool was great (heated, a plus in January even in AZ), the "courtyard" was very relaxing. We go to Tempe every January and this is first time we stayed here and will be going back next year.

  • Liked — How the place is laid out, it's like a resort.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irishmike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
776 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 976 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

This hotel is less than a 10 minute drive to Scottsdale and the price is very reasonable for what you get.The staff are very friendly and the property was always buzzing with staff doing there job...what a change. The Grounds are very clean and well kept. The room itself was also very clean and cozy.

The room provided a kitchenette ( fridge, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, dishes, cuttlery pots etc.). There is a small sitting area and bedroom with two queen size beds. The bedroom area also had a flat screen television mounted on the wall. The bedroom area can be closed off to living room area by two french style doors. The living/kitchen area also had a floor model television. The room itself was tastefully decorated.

The bathroom needs to be updated but it served its purpose for a toilet and a shower. There was also a large closet area.

Free wireless acess in the room.

The property itself boasted two nice sized pools and a small putting green ( great for kids). The property was also patrolled 24 hours a day by security. Breakfast included as per all Hampton Inns.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We reserved a room for one night. We wanted to stay for 2, but decided to look at the room first. It seemed OK, so we told the front desk we would stay for 2 nights. We were traveling with our 2 year old. We put her to sleep in the living room part of the room and my husband took a shower. The water was stuck on scalding hot-impossible to use and dangerous! We tried to call the front desk that night, but we couldn't get the bedroom phone to work and didn't want to wake the baby to use the living room phone. When we called the front desk the next morning, the girl said she didn't know when the shower could be fixed. The manager wasn't there and no one knows his schedule. Finally she offered to change our room. So then we moved all our stuff halfway across the property from upstairs to downstairs, without an elevator or luggage cart and dragging a screaming 2-year old. Then we left to sight-see and keep an appointment. At 11:30 the manager was finally there, but he suggested the shower could have been fixed that night and we should have called then. I said the phone didn't work, even if it did, I didn't want people coming into the room and waking up the baby. Even still, I doubt anyone would have come that late (8:30pm) because when I called in teh morning, the girl said she didn't know when anyone could come and fix it. Surely, during business hours (it was 7:30am) they could know when their maintenance worker could come, yet they couldn't and the manager actually said someone would have come that night. Or he said he could have switch our room that night. Impossible! We were totally set up, with a baby sleeping. And I had already been to the supermarket to stock up the fridge. And we forgot her night light when we did switch rooms, but no one knows what happened to it. Teh only thing the manager offered to do was give us half off our first night. That isn't good enough for the huge inconvenience, not to mention the danger of that scalding water. Plus he made it seem like it was our fault for not calling that night.

In addition, the breakfast wasn't that great. Each morning we had to inform the attendant that she was out of something. How hard is her job that she can't look and see if there are tater tots in a bin? And no coffee? Lazy!

I wouldn't stay here again if it was $1 a night.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank oimabzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Our last nite in AZ, getting up early for a flight. We picked this hotel based on AAA listing and Tripadvisor reviews. We were surprised when we arrived. Personally, I was concerned with the area neighborhood and businesses surrounding this hotel, along with the exterior doors of the hotel. Granted, I am not familiar with Tempe, but I tend to not stay in hotels that are near strip clubs, adult video stores and pawn shops. We were unable to find a nice chain restaurant nearby and ended up at Quinzo's and took it back to our room. We booked online for $90/nite and were upgraded to a suite upon arrival w/o requesting it. Our original room was on the front near the busy street that other reviews mentioned, so we requested another room. The clerk was very friendly and quick to change our room. However, our new room concerned me b/c of the proximity to parking and my general safety concern - also, we appeared to be only one of a few people in our building so it felt isolated. Once inside our room, we smelled old smoke and a call to the desk assured us it was a non-smoking room that simply did not have its sign. Regardless, it smelled bad. Despite all that, once we were in our room, we found it to be nice. Internet access was easy, the bed was very comfy, the shower was nice and the wake up call came as requested -- oh, at the breakfast was good. The Hampton Inn did have nice touches.... a to-go breakfast that became my lunch on the plane, complimentary newspaper, etc. I would not stay here again based solely on the location.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank bargbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
2.2 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
391 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing