We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I will come back again. The room was nice with the flat screen tvs and the kitchen. Training room was ok not great. The breakfast in the morning was great and always something different. I like how close it is to ASU night life so me and my friends dont have far to drive. The one thing i like about them is so helpful i got lock out the room my and they give me another room to sleep in for the night with no charge. Great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sagnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    237
    83
    51
    19
See reviews for
270
211
83
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

An excellent place to stay. Had a full kitchen suite, two queen beds & a sitting room that was spotless. This was a "staycation" for us with our granddaughter & friend over the 4th of July - an extremely busy area as the largest fireworks in the Valley are just about a mile away at the Tempe Town Lake Park. The staff was phenomenal; breakfast was an added treat & so clean & well presented. The van was willing to take us to the activities & pick us up afterwards. We were on the 3rd floor, very quiet with easy access. We are a retired couple travel extensively in the US, Canada & Europe and this Inn I would put at the top of 'where to stay'. Very close to the airport, ASU, shopping, entertainment, etc.- something for everyone. I commend the management staff for their wonderful hospitality & help in making this a great 'staycation'. We have already suggested it to friends & family via internet media. Highly recommend to all ages or an excellent "home" for ASU family visiting students, or business traveler close to airport. The construction next door had/has no impact on the Inn.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room was excellent. Quiet and easily accessible to all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your staycation with us! We always strive to provide guests with an excellent experience and are pleased to hear when we have done so. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stay at the Red Lion Inn every time we fly out of PHX, which is 3-4 times a year. The staff is always very helpful & friendly, the shuttle easy to get to & from the airport, with good helpful drivers, and the breakfast is nicely laid out with good options: hot oatmeal, egg choices, waffles, yogurt, fruit, cereal…The rooms are comfortable & have always been clean. One one trip, we needed two bedrooms and the suite was great: two separate rooms & baths with a nice kitchen & lounge. Excellent prices, excellent service and we love that we can leave the car for 2 weeks while we are away…and it's a very easy return via their shuttle!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank amerikiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. I am so happy to hear you have enhoyed multiple stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. Thank you for beining a loyal guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid May, we were promptly picked up at the airport by the hotels complimentary shuttle and upon arrival at the hotel we were met by very friendly and courteous reception staff!
The hotel shuttle staff were wonderful and took us to the Tempe marketplace and picked us up again! The room was located on the ground floor, opposite the pool and was very clean and spacious. The location was excellent and even though there were new hotel construction works next door, it didn't impact us at all and we were unaware that anything was happening from our room. We would definitely stay here again if in the Tempe area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megabux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our shuttle service to be convenient. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay before a flight out of Sky Harbor airport. The staff is friendly, the property is warm and inviting, and leaving the car is absolutely safe. We were quickly picked up at the airport when we arrived. I will definitely stay here again when flying from PHX

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am happy to hear you found our park and fly program convenient and our property warm and inviting. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had four people in our party and they upgraded us from a regular room to a suite without us asking and no extra charge. They said they happened to be a little slow so they kindly upgraded it. I thought this was very nice of them and made our stay very enjoyable since having 4 people would have been a bit cramped for four days in a regular room. Everything was clean and modern. Hotel grounds were beautiful and the pool was clean and enjoyable, towels were provided. It was a nice hotel, I think it use to be a Hampton Inn. I have only one complaint. Even though the bathroom was very clean there was a soured smell but not sure where it was coming from. My guess was the shower curtain, looked a bit worn and probably should have been changed out. Other than that our stay was great, clean and great location for visiting someone in Tempe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for commenting on the smell in the bathroom and the shower curtain. We always strive to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room and like to know where improvement can be made. I hope you stay with us again when visiting the Tempe area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a week's stay at the Red Lion and was blown away by this bargain-priced hotel. The staff was great and I took advantage of the hotel's 24 hour shuttle service often. Breakfast was more than adequate, although the eggs were a bit rubbery, the breakfast area was spotless and the fresh fruit and bakery was top shelf.
My room and the property in general was spotless and my room was extremely quite even though the property is on a busy street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank geebob144man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed you stay at our hotel. We always try to provide guests with a home away from home and are happy to hear when we have done so. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
2.1 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing