We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Now but after remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The wife and I live on the outskirts of town, with a large family taking a Stacation is just as good as getting out of town. The hotel is going through renovation but the section we stayed in was clean and had very little disturbance from the construction. Good Breakfast Clean comfortable rooms

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your Staycation at our property! We just started some room upgrades this week and I hope you and your family will stay with us again to enjoy these improvements. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 887 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Red Lion Inn and Suites as part of the Park,Sleep,Fly program.
Initially had an issue with our room but Shamar at the front desk was very helpful and attentive with helping us out.
Excellent breakfast items. A good selection of items available, many of which should be on other hotel buffets. A nice effort put forward by the Red Lion.
Nice clean room with lots of space to move. Shuttle to the airport was right on time and pickup from the airport was also very impressive and prompt.
Will be back when we travel again. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room as well as breakfast. We hope to start our park and fly program up again later this year. Please think of us next time you visit the Tempe area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice place. A little construction next door but not a bother. Excellent park and fly. Unfortunately it is being discontinued while construction is underway. Clean room. Shuttle service to Airport is great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are always pleased to hear from a satisfied guest. Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Clean room, friendly staff, convenient free parking. What more can you ask for? I'm going to make this my regular hotel whenever I'm in Phoenix. The room was very quiet. I like the 12 p.m. check-out time, too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDee90017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed with my boyfriend for three nights. Beds were so comfy and we loved the breakfast! Awesome selections and it was all kept nice and hot, or cold (where appropriate). Found out I love Western-style omelets! We also loved the bagel toppers, which we hadn't ever tried before. That breakfast every morning was our favorite part of the stay, and we loved how breakfast is served adjacent to a room with a big public tv. Never seen that in a hotel before.
Didn't end up using the pool but it looked real nice.
No issues with noise. Really nice area, too.
The shuttle service was top-notch. Driver was polite, friendly, had some great conversations. The longest we ever had to wait for a pick-up (at the ASU bus station) was about fifteen minutes. Our flight home was at 8 pm and they had no problem keeping our bags safe behind the desk while we spent our last hours in Phoenix out and about.
Staff was all-around helpful and friendly, giving great tips on things to see and do, and shopping.
Air conditioning worked great.
Hotel is in a great location, right beside a 7-Eleven. Our plane landed in Phoenix at about 10:30 pm so by the time we got to the hotel we were exhausted and all we wanted was a quick snack before bed so that worked out perfectly.
All-around fantastic hotel! Could not recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you reviewing our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide our guests with a quality breakfast with a good variety and are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope you stay with us again when visiting Tempe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Room was clean no funky odors. Staff was great, really friendly. Breakfast bar was really impressive. The shuttle service was awesome; really convenient! Overall we are very satisfied with this hotel. We will definitely book out next stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

All are super....rooms, atmosphere, staff, comfort, and safety. Beautiful hotel. We will surely stay here again. It's a great value. We hear the breakfast is great but we left too early to be able to experience it. This hotel was a wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Julius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We always love hearing from satisfied guests and I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff. Hope you can stay with us again and experience our great breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
5.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix North
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $91 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing