We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Son of Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Oro Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Son of Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This used to be the very popular Hampton Inn that was our favorite place to stay when we flew out of Sky Harbor. This property is still well maintained, very clean, comfortable beds, and a hearty breakfast with waffles, sausage and omelets. They also allow you to leave your car in their back lot while you travel - a very nice perk. They have shuttle service to the airport every half hour and will pick you up on your return. The location is convenient to old town Scottsdale which has good restaurants. The Roaring Fork is excellent. The Red Lion will be our "go-to" hotel in Tempe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    218
    79
    49
    17
See reviews for
244
194
77
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a perfectly nice airport-access hotel with all the usual amenities. But if pool/jacuzzi are important to you, be sure to request a room adjacent to the sun-drenched pool with the jacuzzi. One pool has sun and jacuzzi; the other does not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank SedonaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you had time to enjoy our pools. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a decent hotel except for the beds weren't very comfortable. Other than that it was clean, offered a nice breakfast and had a little putting green area to practice your putting. Fun for my son!

Room Tip: stay away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was a great hotel for us. It was close to ASU, had two pools and a great morning breakfast. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They were willing to help in any way they could. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The only ding I would give is it took until 2:30 before our room was cleaned. FYI - This is being converted into a Red Lion Inn at the end of May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank wayneusd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I needed the "Park and Fly" benefit and it worked out very well. Long term parking was very accessible - and shuttle was on time coming and going. Because there ware 4 of us, we got a suite . Clean room, nice linens -- helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast was very nice. More than we expected. Overall a very positive experience. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank sherrell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here one night on return from long trip. Room was quiet, bed very comfortable, breakfast excellent. Property is about to be converted to a Red Roof Inn. Only issue was when we showed up in lobby for reserved shuttle to take us to the airport, it was out on a run and would not be back for 20 minutes, which was going to cause us to miss our connection. The desk staff was able to get a maintenance person to drive a standby van, and we made our connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank looks4deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed her twice in May. This is very funky for a Hampton but I liked it for serveral reasons. First the rooms are clean and they offer all the hampton amenties including shower gel and mouthwash. The price was very reasonable for Phoenix....about $84 plus tax for a single queen sized bed. Also....they have a back porch (veranda?) that is nice, comfortable furniture, TV and the wifi works out there too. I wake up early...so I was out there drinking coffee and working by 5am every day. The hotel is right on the line between Tempe and Scottsdale; it has great access to ASU but also all the great reastaurants in Scottsdale.

There is one significant draw back in my opinion, close to 100% of the employees smoke. These are committed chain smokers with lots of time to stand out back and smoke. At any given time there are two employees smoking. When you walk by them....they absolutely reek and it causes the lobby to smell also. Maybe that isn't a big deal to you but think of the productivity improvement that could be had by hiring non smokers! I see dollar signs.

So enjoy the Red Lion!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.2 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing