We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Small Room”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over at this hotel for 2the nights because the host hotel for the Color Run was all booked. Staff was great! Very helpful! Breakfast was more than adequate with many healthy choicces including fruit &the fresh oatmeal. Perfect location 5 minutes from the start line. The only down side was that the room was so small. We had 2 queen beds but they seemed more like doubles and the bed next to the window was right up against the air conditioner. Anyone any bigger than me couldnt have got past the airconditioner to get in and out. And forget turning it on at night because whoever was laying right beside it would get blasted. Not a huge deal for me but kind of annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
arizona_8,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! I am very happy to hear our staff was great and you enjoyed our breakfast. In the future I would recommend one of our suites if you were going to be staying more than a night or two. They are twice the size of our standard rooms, include a mini or full kitchen, and normally are only $20 to $30 more than a standard room a night. I hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    270
    91
    56
    21
See reviews for
313
233
87
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

24/7 Shuttle service was a outstanding service. Allowed us to leave our vehicles behind and enjoy several colds one after the race. Very quite never heard any neighbors slamming doors or dragging suit cases. Small kitchen refreg was good to keep pre-post race drinks. Location was 1.4 miles from the finish line...Will stay there next year for this race....Baker2Vegas Team Capt..
Cornel

Room Tip: Rooms on East side to avoid road hum.Suites with kitchen are a must. Fold out sofa was is great shap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORNEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank for taking the time to review your stay with us. Rock n Roll is always a fun weekend and we love having all the racers and their fans. We hope you choose to stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a ground floor room with a king bed. We were located near the pool. The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable---much appreciated after a 7 hour drive. Our complaint was it was easy to hear loud conversation at the pool and we heard loud noises from someone in the room above us at 1:45 am. The layout of our room was a little awkward with the bathroom (and the towels) located around the corner from the sink (no towels or towel rack).The buffet breakfast was nicer than many that we've had at other comparable hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way from Sedona to the airport. It was a little further away from the airport than I anticipated; we got stuck in morning rush hour on both the 10 and the 202.

I was also not thrilled that when I asked for something easily accessible, (at 4pm checkin) as I cannot walk far, we were given a 3rd floor room, at the end a long winding walkway, around back...furthest possible wing and room it seemed possible. Elevator or not, that was no fun, and painful, dragging luggage around, and getting to and from breakfast in below-freezing temps the next morning.

The 2-double bed suite was gorgeous, with doors separating the living/desk/kitchenette area. The nice dressing room would be wonderful for longer stays. Flat screens in both areas were nice to have.

Can't say that I enjoyed the food from the OrderInn menu - lukewarm, small portion, overpriced. Hot Breakfast in the morning was much better.

Don't anticipate walking anywwhere in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility issue, make that clear when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLadyChristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Love it! Clean and modern. They even take you within 5 miles to eat at a large shopping mall that had amazing food places to choose from. The rooms are good size very modern and comfortable. It is an amazing value for the price. I made my reservation directly with the hotel and got a better price than on a park and fly sight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarabarbara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Barbarabarbara13,
Thank you for writing a review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed you your stay with us and took advantage of our parking and shuttle service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This property is barely a hilton product. The smallest room I have seen in quite some time. More like a Motel 6. Two steps from the bed and you are in the bathroom. The open corridors must be brutal in the heat of summer. NIce snacks for HIlton Gold Member thank you. Call for extra towels because this Hampton only gives you 2 bath towels when all others I have stayed give you 3.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room stairs everywhere...open corridors and even with the elevator you stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
skayc,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will review your comments with my managment staff and see what we can do to address the problems you pointed out. If you plan on coming to the Tempe/Phoenix area again please feel free to call me and I will see if we can put you in one of our suites that have alot more room than our standard rooms. Thank you again. -Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for its sleep park fly deal. Price was 35% less than a park and fly. Parking lot is well lit. Hotel is not new but rooms were clean, bed was comfortable.. rooms are very clean. Excellent deal for the money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Bernadette, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You can always leave your vehicle here for upto 21 days for every night you stay at the hotel regardless if you book your room thru hampton.com, the hotel directly, or any third party website. I am glad to hear you got a good deal on the room. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
2.2 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
391 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing