We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Park and Fly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Love it! Clean and modern. They even take you within 5 miles to eat at a large shopping mall that had amazing food places to choose from. The rooms are good size very modern and comfortable. It is an amazing value for the price. I made my reservation directly with the hotel and got a better price than on a park and fly sight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarabarbara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Barbarabarbara13,
Thank you for writing a review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed you your stay with us and took advantage of our parking and shuttle service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 887 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This property is barely a hilton product. The smallest room I have seen in quite some time. More like a Motel 6. Two steps from the bed and you are in the bathroom. The open corridors must be brutal in the heat of summer. NIce snacks for HIlton Gold Member thank you. Call for extra towels because this Hampton only gives you 2 bath towels when all others I have stayed give you 3.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room stairs everywhere...open corridors and even with the elevator you stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

skayc,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I will review your comments with my managment staff and see what we can do to address the problems you pointed out. If you plan on coming to the Tempe/Phoenix area again please feel free to call me and I will see if we can put you in one of our suites that have alot more room than our standard rooms. Thank you again. -Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for its sleep park fly deal. Price was 35% less than a park and fly. Parking lot is well lit. Hotel is not new but rooms were clean, bed was comfortable.. rooms are very clean. Excellent deal for the money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi Bernadette, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You can always leave your vehicle here for upto 21 days for every night you stay at the hotel regardless if you book your room thru hampton.com, the hotel directly, or any third party website. I am glad to hear you got a good deal on the room. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It met my wife's requirements for a hotel, which says a lot for the hotel :-). If I had any complaints, it would be that the two very comfortable beds seemed a bit big for the size of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

AA, I am very happy to hear our met you and your wife's standards and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I look forward to seeing you guys again in the future.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

After a 5 hour drive from Nevada, I needed to return my rental car and arranged for Hampton Inn’s shuttle to pick me up at the airport. At 10:15, the shuttle was there waiting for me when I got to the pick-up area and the driver was great. As he drove me to the hotel, he informed me that if I wanted to get something to eat or take a little tour around the Tempe area, he’d be glad to take me around. I didn’t take him up on the offer, but it was nice to be treated like a long-time friend.
After a short 10 – 15 minute drive, I arrived at the Hampton Inn Tempe and was quickly checked in. I was up on the 3rd floor toward the back of the hotel and to get to my room, it was a short walk around the outside lanais and over to my room. Security at this hotel does seem a bit wide open as there are external stairs leading up to the rooms and no security gates to limit access. It was raining and I did get a little wet since the access to the rooms are outside. The buildings and the room seem to be a bit dated but maintained. I had reserved a King room and received a double queen. These rooms are a little small so the 2 queen beds made the room feel pretty cramped but since I would only be sleeping there and catching a morning flight out, I didn’t make an issue of it. The room was fairly clean and consisted of 2 queen beds (as I mentioned) a couple of night stands, a work desk with lamp and office chair, a dresser and a flat screen TV on top. The bathroom had the single sink outside the actual bathroom with the tub/shower combo and toilet enclosed. The closet was pretty small, as you slide the door open, you have to turn sideways to get to the back of the closet. The wireless internet was adequate for me to pull up a few websites and check email.
All in all, this was just an OK property, the staff was great, but the property was dated, a little awkward to navigate and room was cramped. They had the shuttle waiting for me early in the morning to get me to the airport which was really nice. I think the staff here are the saving grace and made it an OK place to spend the night before flying out of Phoenix.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Scott w, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear our staff provided you with good service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rooms was more on the level of a Motel 6. Two night stay was booked but I checked out after the first night. Breakfast was aweful. No fruit, dry burnt eggs. I grabbed a breakfast to go bag and left. Won't be back..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and pointing out some area's we have opportunities to improve in. I can assure you your recent experience at our hotel was not a typical one. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to prove it.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tempe
1
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Vety nice stay our room was very clean and very neat. Down to the flower made of Kleenex in the Kleenex Box. Lovely!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
5.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix North
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $89 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing