We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to ASU & Airport - Just What We Needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Close to ASU & Airport - Just What We Needed!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I recently stayed at this property to help my son get settled in at ASU. This hotel is close to the property and provides shuttle assistance to ASU as well as the airport! I was impressed! Was given a solid rate, included the nice amenities of Wi-Fi and a nice breakfast. (waffles!)
I have already made my reservation for next month during Parent's Weekend!

Room Tip: Near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeTraveler8538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    270
    91
    56
    21
See reviews for
311
232
87
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked a 3 day stay at this Hampton Inn and it was the perfect weekend!
My friends and I were in town for the Mets Game. The hotel was impeccable!
The room a standard queen was excellent. We had comfortable beds, free parking and nearby access to everything. My hotel bill was 64.00 usd a night! The hotel is perfect! It's a comfortable environment with a breakfast area and a lounge area. Free continental breakfast and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. Bonus we were able to obtain a late checkout. I highly suggest this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Standard queen/ top floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We flew out of Phoenix and needed a good hotel with free parking while we were gone. Great place for this. Very large hotel. Imagine my surprise when I thought I'd booked a room with 2 queen beds to find I was put in a suite. Very nice. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1peaceonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
1peaceonthebeach, I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel might not be the closest to the airport, or the fanciest, but it certainly fits the bill if you are looking for a comfortable, affordable place to stay within airport shuttle distance. I really liked the breakfast and thought that the staff was accomodating. To me it's the very definition of a four star "value" hotel in that it's a bit older hotel with amenities like a great breakfast and shuttle that more than make up for not being the "prettiest." Also, the pool area is well maintained, and despite some some exterior noise, this Hampton is situated in a good central Phoenix location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to wright a review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise, the front desk was excellent! Friendly, helpful, and very knowledeable about the surrounding area - they helped me with dinner recommendations for the family. The rooms were here were kept well, clean and in good shape. The breakfast was very tasteful and very good, my kids loved the waffles. My stay overall here was a very enjoyable one! The staff here were always ready to go way beyond to assist us in everyway, gave us a nice room, offered free wi-fi and a good breakfast ini the morning. We loved our stay here and would recomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We were given a nice room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a "park 'n fly" hotel and this Hampton Inn fit the bill.
We had an early morning flight out of Sky Harbor, so we decided to drive to Phoenix and enjoy the city the afternoon prior. We had lunch in Scottsdale and then found some take out for supper before checking in to the hotel. We took a walk around the property just before it got dark and discovered that there are several courtyards with different amenities. One that we found could be useful on our next visit, gas grills available to cook your own dinner. We left our car for a month with no problem. Our return flight got back in very late at night, but the hotel's shuttle service picked us up and took us right to our car. Oh yeah, the room wasn't bad either.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because we were flying to Mexico and had to park our car someplace for a couple of weeks. When we arrived the front desk was very efficient. Our room was quiet and had everything we needed for a night stay. The shuttle to the airport was on time and got us to the airport in record time. I can highly recommend this hotel as a great place to leave your car and spend the night before traveling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betweenjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.5 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
2.2 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
390 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1714 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing