We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Parking Rules” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Parking Rules”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We left our vehicle in the parking lot for a few trips and were very pleased upon our return. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is comprehensive. The free park-n-fly benefit makes this our go-to hotel for trips out of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. We could have used a restaurant within walking distance, although the Hyatt next door has a small bar that stays open until 11:30 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SangSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    70
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
34
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a fairly typical SpringHill property as far as accommodations go and is very convenient to the airport, but what really stood out was the customer service we received during our brief, overnight stay. It started with the airport shuttle driver that picked us up late Thursday night who was very patient and helpful as we tried to coordinate a pick up between two different terminals. Then the people at the front desk, both at check in and in the morning, were very pleasant and helpful with the requests we had for late check out and local transportation. I wish I had done a better job of getting names!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here on an overnight to attend a play at Gammage Auditorium. It was about a 10 minute drive from the hotel to the Mill Ave district and the Tempe Lake beach area. The hotel is very clean and modern as it has been recently been remodeled. The complimentary breakfast was very well stocked. It not only had the usual cereals, rolls, juices, etc. but also hot scrambled eggs and sausage. All in all it was a pleasant stay, convenient to the Tempe entertainment area and the ASU campus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Good hotel convenient to airport . Roomy suite with odd furnishings-no drawers to put clothes in. I asked about it and they said it was just part of the design. Nice pool and workout room. The front desk had a great local breakfast recommendation-Harlows close by.

Room Tip: Need to book at least several weeks in advance during spring training.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Due to terrible weather back East, our flight home was cancelled. My husband and I found ourselves stuck in Phoenix for an extra two days. We had turned in our rental car at the airport, before our flight was cancelled, so we had to find a place to stay that could provide us with some transportation.

Many hotels near the airport were isolated, with no restaurants or shopping centers nearby. Luckily, we found the Springhill Suites. This hotel had a free shuttle that could take us to downtown Tempe! During our stay, we took advantage of this shuttle several times.

Because the airline sent our baggage on ahead (after assuring us that we would soon have a flight), we had no clothes or shoes except those we were wearing, and no toiletries, We explained our situation to the shuttle driver, a very nice man named John, and he took us to a CVS. There, we were able to buy T-shirts, underwear, socks, and enough toiletries to get by. He also showed us the local "restaurant row," where we enjoyed several nice meals.

The hotel desk staff were courteous, friendly and helpful to us, too, and they and John the driver made our unexpected stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

What an adventure checking in! Who knew there were five (5!) Springhill Marriotts in Phoenix! All would have been well if they had put a phone number and an address on the check-in card/key-holder, but I guess I was either being dumb or not concentrating. Drove there, then drove my rental car back, hopped on the shuttle to the airport and then jumped on the Springhill Marriott bus. Wrong one. An hour later I show up at my room. No-ones fault but mine, but the hazard could have easily been mitigated! everyone was very kind and helpful, and there were no tears shed, and a few laughs had.
Breakfast was good, but had nowhere to go for supper. I ended up at the Hyatt next door which had a rudimentary menu but at least had a bar. The following morning was told that they would have taken me to a local restaurant and picked me up had i asked. So now you know.
Clean rooms, attentive staff, good wifi, very convenient for the airport - 10 minutes from pick-up to check-in.
Definitely on my list for my next trip here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I am sorry you were inconvenienced by one of our sister properties not making sure you are one of their guests. They are supposed to make sure you are a registered guest before they let you in the shuttle but that obviously did not happen and we apologize. We also train our front desk staff to inform any guest that asks about food options to inform them that we have our shuttle that travels a 2 mile radius of the hotel which includes an area with 60 restaurants and bars within a 6 block stretch. I am not sure why this did not happen but this will be addressed with the front desk staff. Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at the SpringHill Suites with some co-workers on a recent trip to PHX. The service that the hotel provides is excellent, but the hard product leaves somethings to be desired. The breakfast spread was decent, and the hotel did appear to be recently renewed, but the pool is small and you feel that the rooms are slightly awkward. The positioning of the television isn't really conducive to watching TV from the bed, but it isn't set-up for only viewing from the sitting area. The bed is definitely not on my list of top hotel beds. All in all, I would return, but only because of the service from the staff, not the hard product.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
JetsetAlex,
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am happy that the Staff exceeded your expectations and that we might see you again soon! We are very excited to be getting a full renovation this summer because as you indicated, it is needed! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport

Property: SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Address: 1601 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ 85281-2495
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport Hotel Tempe
Springhill Suites Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing