We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Respiratory Problems? Stay Away!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Respiratory Problems? Stay Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The lobby had a slight "musty" smell. This hotel is located right on the freeway- On retrospect, I'm attributing the lobby smell to the smog making its way inside. Hallways smelled of mold. Room was large, but the furnishings were old and tired. Bathroom was equally old and tired. Both appeared clean. I opened the room window slightly to air out the smelly room, but, the smell of cigarettes from people smoking near the pool and in the parking lot quickly filled the room with the smell of their smoke. So much for leaving the window open! The bed was comfortable. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us, with regards to your statement on the musty smell in the lobby, the Hawthorn Suites Tempe is one of the most recently built hotels in the area and as you can see form the list of other guests reviews that there is certainly no smell in the lobby, we all here at the Hawthorn Suites Tempe pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our hotel, and all of our staff go above and beyond to make sure all of our guests have an exceptional stay with us. With regards to the furnishings we have new deluxe beds and pillow top mattresses in each suite and the décor compliments the beds and furnishings in each suite. There is a designated smoking area which is nowhere near guest’s rooms or windows. Arizona does have a natural dusty atmosphere however there is air conditioning in each and every suite to combat the natural dust. Thank you for your thoughts, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites Tempe,
Kind Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    193
    124
    87
    75
See reviews for
295
130
62
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

very impressed!!!!!!. I give huge credit to the housekeeping department because my room was serviced every day and smelt excellent when I came back in the evening. The bed made me want to take it home it was sooo comfortable. perfect location to pretty much everything in the Tempe, Scottsdale, and mesa area. I will definitely be back soon...thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttavler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a flattering review of your stay with us, it was certainly a great pleasure to have you stay with us, indeed the house keeping service operate every day to ensure a home from home experience, our beds are of exceptional quality including pillow top mattresses. The location of the hotel is indeed in the heart of Tempe with easy access to wherever you may need to go. All of us here at Hawthorn Suites Tempe try our hardest to make sure every guest has a comfortable and pleasurable experience with us. Once again thank you so much for your input, it is greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located next to the 101 freeway making it easy to get anywhere quickly. The staff is extremely friendly. I love the basket of fruit and cookies available in the afternoon. The bed is very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your stay with us, the location of the hotel is indeed in the heart of Tempe with easy access to wherever you may need to go. We are so glad that you enjoyed the welcoming basket of fruit and cookies awaiting your arrival, all of us here at Hawthorn Suites Tempe try our hardest to give our guests an excellent experience away from home. Once again thank you so much for your input, it is greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed here for a week. I was impressed with hospitality and cleanness of hotel. Staff was very courteous. I was also impressed with the suite with large kitchen and living area. I felt so comfortable that almost felt like I was at my apartment only. I loved the breakfast as well. Bed was very comfortable. Impressed with the bedding they used. Very clean. Suite had no smell at all which we find in most of the hotel rooms at other hotels. I would love to go back for next stay. Its great price for the type of comfort you get.

Green Features: Was amazed with their environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor. We here at Hawthorn Suites try our hardest to give our guests a home away from home. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also happy to hear you enjoyed the warm breakfast prepared daily. It’s no surprise that you enjoyed the accommodations we offer in our rooms from the spacious living area to our brand new Simmons Beautyrest Cape Breton Pillow Top mattresses. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel was fine for a one-night stay near my conference location. The parking lot was pretty small, but this hotel ended up being smaller than I realized anyway, so parking was not difficult. The staff was friendly enough in my brief interactions for check in and check out. I remember the desk clerk trying his best to help the guest before me who requested to switch rooms because he didn't care for the fragrance of the room.

I was only able to locate one elevator to my third floor (top floor) room. Sometimes it took the elevator car a while to arrive.

Wifi did not require any kind of password, which is convenient, but maybe also convenient for hackers standing outside the building. I get a bit paranoid about that, even though I know many "public wifi" networks aren't that secure anyway even if they require a password.

The shower curtain choice was actually pretty neat. I liked how it was opaque except for a wide band of clear material that stretched across the curtain at eye level that allowed light to enter the shower area (don't worry, it's not clear enough that you can see any detail through it).

Hot breakfast was fine, but mostly average: I had the scrambled eggs, sausage links, bacon, potato chunks / hash browns, and orange juice. Actually, the bacon was pretty crunchy, so I liked that.

Overall, the experience was acceptable. If I sound a bit underwhelmed, it was mostly because I expected more for the price I paid. However, it is acknowledged that the lodging selection was small within walking distance of my conference, and I did book the room rather last-minute.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean you have to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niftyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ken,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay with us. All of us here at Hawthorn Suites try our hardest to make sure every guest has a comfortable and pleasurable experience. We can assure you that our WiFi network is plenty secure, we have a Cisco firewall for added security. We keep the network open strictly for convenience. Glad to hear you enjoyed the way we model our rooms, specifically the shower curtain. The bacon is indeed one of the best parts of our daily prepared breakfast and we are happy to know you enjoyed it. Once again we would like to thank you for your input and hope to see you again if you are ever in the Phoenix area.
Sincerely,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
4.5 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
4.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
6.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chandler/Phoenix Area
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#31 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing