We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Nearby Hotels
$126
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$71
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
193
216
154
122
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
216
154
122
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan extended stayfull kitchencoffee makerliving roomhot breakfastsitting areaconvenient locationpool and hot tubyogurtmini fridgephoenix areadishwasherfreewaymesaasu
Filter
Updating list...
587 - 592 of 785 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was comfortable and clean. It was very close to ASU, which was a definite advantage for me. The staff was very friendly. The only thing I didn't particularly like about the hotel was the a/c didn't cool the whole suite. They had a switch in the living room that was too noisy and didn't cool the room properly. The furniture in the living area needed updating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Nada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Nada,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Hawthorn Suites in Tempe is indeed in close proximity to the ASU campus, making it the perfect place to stay while visiting family attending school there. Our front desk staff is here around the clock to assist you with a smile. We are ready and willing to help- always let us know if there is anything we can do to make your room more comfortable. We’d love to accommodate you again- book through us directly next time for same or better deal, as well as more flexibility for you and your family :)
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hawthorn in Tempe did not show your best. It more like a motel 6. When I first entered the hotel to check in , it smelled like pine sol. Behind the desk looked less than professional. They charged me a $25.00 early check in fee even though there were plenty of rooms open!
When I had house keeping the room was not all the way cleaned. For example. Not all garbage was taken and the coffee basket was not refilled. It's the little things that make a stay great.
On line it made it look like the pool was much bigger but in actual size it was very tiny and tucked in the corner facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Nancy,
Thank you for your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We regret to hear that your stay at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe was not what you thought it would be. We strive to provide a most enjoyable hotel experience for all of our valued guests, from our friendly and helpful front desk staff, to our hardworking housekeeping staff. The picture of our pool on our website is an accurate depiction; we are sorry it was not in line with your expectations. Early check-in is not a guarantee, but if we have a room ready and available, we are happy to check in for a small fee, this is standard for an arrival 3 hours prior to check-in time. Very early check-in is not complimentary; we thank you for your understanding in this matter.
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was such a lovely place to stay! Very clean environment and the staff were so friendly and helpful with suggestions as far as restaurants and places to visit. The rooms had the convenience of a small kitchen and dinning area. GREAT!! Would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Wow, thank you for such an excited and positive review on TripAdvisor. It brings all of us here at Hawthorn Suites joy to know how you enjoyed your stay. It is our number goal to make our guests feel right at home and comfortable- while providing friendly service with a smile! Front desk is here 24 hours a day to answer your questions and point you in the right direction. Convenience is key- with the option of having a kitchenette in your suite, guests can cook and dine in the comfort of their own room. We would love to see you again next time you are in the Tempe area. Thanks for choosing Hawthorn Suites!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a king bed suite, with a sofa bed in the sitting area and kitchenette. My 6'5" son didn't complain about the comfort of the sofa bed when he stayed one night. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very quiet - I was never woken by noise in the corridor or the parking lot even though we were opposite the ice machine. The hot breakfast was plentiful and tasty: scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon/sausage, bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

I did not try the small swimming pool. The exercise room had a nice selection of cardio equipment, especially nice since it was way too hot to walk far outside.

On a previous visit to ASU, I had stayed in one of the larger chains and did not like it nearly as well as this hotel, which was less than 1/2 the price. I'll definitely stay here again when I go to Tempe.

Room Tip: I was in a room on the ground floor and still didn't have much noise from the neighbors or the nearby freeway. If you don't want to wait for an elevator or carry things upstairs, the ground floor is just fine.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Americaine-in-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your awesome detailed review on TripAdvisor. It is incredible to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed your stay with us, and most importantly that you and your family were comfortable here. In our spacious suites, there is plenty of room for families, with the living area, sleeper sofa, another flat screen TV, desk, and wet bar or kitchenette. And you’re right; our complimentary hot breakfast provides you with many tasty options- every morning! It’s a great option to have our 24-hour fitness center- you can stay on your workout routine without having to exercise in the desert heat. All of that and more with our central location off the 101 freeway- you can’t beat it! Thank you for your recognition—we would love to have you back next time you are in Tempe!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews