We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place not far from ASU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a king bed suite, with a sofa bed in the sitting area and kitchenette. My 6'5" son didn't complain about the comfort of the sofa bed when he stayed one night. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very quiet - I was never woken by noise in the corridor or the parking lot even though we were opposite the ice machine. The hot breakfast was plentiful and tasty: scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon/sausage, bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

I did not try the small swimming pool. The exercise room had a nice selection of cardio equipment, especially nice since it was way too hot to walk far outside.

On a previous visit to ASU, I had stayed in one of the larger chains and did not like it nearly as well as this hotel, which was less than 1/2 the price. I'll definitely stay here again when I go to Tempe.

Room Tip: I was in a room on the ground floor and still didn't have much noise from the neighbors or the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Americaine-in-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your awesome detailed review on TripAdvisor. It is incredible to hear how thoroughly you enjoyed your stay with us, and most importantly that you and your family were comfortable here. In our spacious suites, there is plenty of room for families, with the living area, sleeper sofa, another flat screen TV, desk, and wet bar or kitchenette. And you’re right; our complimentary hot breakfast provides you with many tasty options- every morning! It’s a great option to have our 24-hour fitness center- you can stay on your workout routine without having to exercise in the desert heat. All of that and more with our central location off the 101 freeway- you can’t beat it! Thank you for your recognition—we would love to have you back next time you are in Tempe!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 711 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while moving our daughter into ASU- Tempe... it was convenient to campus and to PHX International Sky Harbor Airport... The breakfast kind of sucked, AND finding a HUGE bug on my pillow on check-in had me sleeping with one eye open for two nights... It was a nice room, well laid out with a full kitchen, BUT we couldn't find a comfortable temp... we were freezing or roasting :-(

Room Tip: Maybe the bug was a fluke, but it freaked me right out... we were on first floor and it was nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We regret to hear that your stay was anything less than outstanding. We definitely strive to please everyone here with our breakfast, hoping that with so many tasty items to choose from that there will be something for everyone. As for a bug, we have professional pest control here monthly, and we have never once seen or heard of any large bugs in any of our rooms. But, if there is something in your room that you feel uncomfortable with, we hope that you inform us immediately and we will always do whatever we can to fix it for you. Guest satisfaction and well-being are number one priorities. We are happy to assist you in adjusting the air conditioner if need be, anytime day or night. Our friendly and attentive staff is here at the desk 24 hours a day. Thanks again for your thoughts and for choosing Hawthorn Suites!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, were in town visiting family and a little get-away. Hotel was convenient for where were wanted to go. Room was large, with separate sleeping and living/Kitchenette areas. Comfortable king bed and a good sofa bed. Very clean and comfortable. Small pool and hot tub were nice added features as well as a gym with good equipment, mostly cardio. WiFi worked great throughout. Nice breakfast in a casual breakfast room just off the lobby on the first floor The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone always had a smile on their face and greeted you as if you were an old friend. They were all eager to help you out with anything you needed. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Dan,
Thank you for the awesome, detailed review on TripAdvisor. It is our joy to hear that you are pleased with your stay- Hawthorn Suites is a great place for families on vacation! Our large, spacious suites, with either full kitchenette or wet bar, two LCD flat screen TVs, and separate living area with couch and sleeper sofa, make it easy to keep your family happy and comfortable. The free hot breakfast and Wi-Fi are always a plus, as well as use of our fitness center. Our front desk staff is here around the clock, ready and willing to assist you anytime. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've been here before and will definitely go back again! While we stayed 5 days, we only ate breakfast there once. It was a basic breakfast, eggs, bacon, potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, and more. Others have commented they had difficulty keeping their room cool, we did not have that experience. Our room, on the second floor, parking lot side, was plenty cool. And it was over 100 degrees outside. We kept the A/C on low and were quite comfortable. The kitchen cabinets were filled with cooking utensils and dinnerware. WiFi worked great for us. Two televisions. Very clean bathroom and tub. While the sides of the king size bed were a bit too soft for my liking, the middle of the bed was firm enough for me. The staff members are really nice and friendly. We didn't swim in the very well kept pool on this stay (too hot outside for me) but some other people did.

Room Tip: we think the rooms facing the parking lot and above the pool are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We can’t thank you enough for the kind and detailed review! At Hawthorn Suites in Tempe, this is what we strive to provide for our guests- an exceptional experience. From check-in with our friendly and helpful staff, to our clean and spacious guest suites, to our tasty hot breakfast, complimentary every morning, free and easy access Wi-Fi, the option of having an efficiency suite which includes a full kitchen and cookware/dishes, two LCD flat screen TVs, brand new mattresses, and our relaxing outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. It is a joy to hear from you and look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you for your loyalty!
Warm Wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
5.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tempe
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $54 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing