We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We checked into The Hawthorne Suites after checking out of another hotel that was horrible. The staff was so helpful, the room was beautiful. If I Phoenix have to stay in the area again I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your words! We are always happy to accommodate our guests. It's an especially cool experience to be able to satisfy a guest who had recently had a nasty experience at another local hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 738 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe location convenient and easy to find, nearby must see desert botanical garden and world famous Sedona.The room was extra large, with attractive furnishings. Bathroom, air conditioning, 2 TV, and in good, clean condition.

The lot of varieties of hot and cold food with included continental breakfast. The coffee is very good. Unlimited Coffee and fruits supply round the clock. On my stay were guests with family and professionals from across US and other countries with all age group present.

The cell phone reception was good, free WIFI. I also tried dedicated computer room in lobby for access privacy and it was fast and very convenient.

It is excellent value for money.

The staff and management is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were neat and clean. Not our first visit and certainly not our last.

Thank you for making my day starts very positive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarshaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thanks for a wonderful review! One of the reasons we take so much pride in our hotel is because of the varieties of guests we have. We have the pleasure of accommodating people from all around the world. Businessmen, families, and people who are taking a relaxing trip. We make sure each room is up to your highest relaxation standards. It is a pleasure to hear such kind words. We are located within 10 miles of 4 major freeways, which makes traveling to places like Sedona convenient. Our breakfast is made fresh every morning. Once again, it's refreshing to hear from our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we got a good rate and it was near the airport. We had returned from Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon and were flying out the next morning. The room was a true suite with a kitchenette and sitting area with another tv. The hotel is a short drive from ASU and downtown Tempe. We were there on a Friday night and had dinner in town, where the atmosphere was festive. The hotel is near an expressway, maybe a ten min drive fron ASU (depending on traffic) . The hotel was quiet & the room very clean as the hotel was newer. The breakfast was fine with healthy choices. You would need a car to get anywhere from this location. Of coursse we had a rental car and were fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank books30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities. Our location makes it great for traveling anywhere within the valley. We are also by a couple major highways for long distance travelers. We also have new amenities such as new flat screen tv's. We hope that you choose us next time you come to town!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband & I were very pleased with the hotel and the room. The only thing I did not like about the room was that the bed was uncomfortable and the coffee for the room was really weak but other than that we loved it. The location was great near everything we were going to. It was also quite. Also the people at the front desk were great no matter what time it was they were always there to help us, we needed some map quest items and they were so helpful. Also my husband loved the sweet treats that you had by the front desk. Also the ladies that cleaned the rooms were also great they fill all of our needs. We will be coming back and also be telling all of our friends about it. Thank you for a great trip. :-) The only thing that we were not happy with was the breakfast when we went down the selection was the same no changes and the sausage and bacon was cold. But keep up the great work.... also loved the safe in the room more hotels should do it was great.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As long as your room is up to par, customer service is our number 1 priority. We're always happy to help anyone find directions. Every day we go the extra mile to give our customers the best valued hospitality in Tempe. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very nice. All the things I needed. I didn't need the safe I had to pay for. $10 in taxes per day. But clean. Quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to hear that our guests enjoy our amenities. We are always happy to take the safe fee out of the bill upon request. Taxes are also out of our hands, they are the same everywhere in the area. Nonetheless, we thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the suite to be very roomy. The front desk provided wine glasses at our request. The breakfast was excellent! There is very limited dining in the area, but the staff was able to suggest restaurants within a short drive. Easy access to the freeway syste, and a relatively short drive to the Sky Harbor Airport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianP223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're always happy to accommodate our guests with whatever they need, weather it would be giving directions or recommending a great place to eat. We hope that you choose to stay with us next time you are in town!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great location, great services, great breakfast,great staff.And easy process for check in and check out.Housekeeping was right on top of things.Very clean rooms.As per price of this hotel I am very satisfied with all amenities. I will definately stay again and will recommend travellers to do so well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mayz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. Here at Hawthorn Suites, we do our best to make sure that check in and check out are speedy, but still secure. We're glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, most guests love it. We hope that you choose to stay at our property next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
4.5 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
4.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area

Address: 2301 E Southern Ave, Tempe, AZ 85282-7637 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $65 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing