We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/mesa/phoenix Area
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Motel 6 Tempe ASU(Tempe)(Great Value!)
$54
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$71
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn Of Tempe(Tempe)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$134
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
193
215
154
122
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
215
154
122
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan extended stayfull kitchencoffee makerliving roomhot breakfastsitting areaconvenient locationpool and hot tubyogurtmini fridgephoenix areadishwasherfreewaymesaasu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 783 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I made a reservation just to see what price range was available, then canceled it immediately. These THIEVES charged me $14 for canceling the reservation. DON"T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank RippedOffByHawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed 2 weeks late May 07-early June. Wont be back. Maids not to good in fact no show in our room last day with no explanation. A few days the maids turned off air in room AND OPENED THE CURTAINS, so when we got back late in evening it was terribly terribly hot in room.
They are installing new windows so should help with noise.
They are going totally non smoking rooms in July.
Rooms were not that clean.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlwt2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

we stayed at this Hawthorn-tempe in September and the rates were the best in the area. It includes a hot breakfast and a usa today. like the post below, the pool is small but clean with towels. the rooms by the roads are a little noisy but if you request a room facing the parking lot, you will be OK.
I think It was a real value for a suite with refrigerator and microwave. this is a open suite with no doors inbetween rooms with sleeper couch, two tvs.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank magico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

All Hawthorns look pretty much alike in my experience; this one was typical. The rooms were clean, the price extremely reasonable (I got a state rate) and the breakfast room acceptable. Because the hotel sits on a busy street (E. Southern Avenue) and next to the 101, the rooms at the east side facing the parking lot are MUCH quieter than the rooms facing the street (I did stay in both and it made a huge difference if you dislike traffic noise as much as I do). The pool is pitifully small but I didn't use it anyway. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the gentleman taking care of the breakfast room was particularly pleasant and accomodating, though the blaring TV was a bit much, not to mention the radio emanating from the kitchen. All in all, though, I think this Hawthorn is a bargain relative to other places I looked at and would recommend it to those who want a reasonable place to stay and without, as usual, expectations of luxury. Its about ten minutes from ASU and of course 101 and 60 give you access to other parts of the area.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TreschichommeKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbia, MD
113
Reviewed October 19, 2005

We stayed at this property in May for 10 days and the sheets were changed every other day. We stayed at this property again in Oct. for 7 days. We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the 2nd floor above the pool!! Is there something the staff didn't understand?? When asking about how often the sheets were changed, we were told this only happened on Thurs. We had to ask for our blanket to be replaced because it had mulitple tears. The new one was semi clean and had rips too. The sheets had holes. We were met in the breakfast room by a loud '80's "shoot 'em up" movie most mornings. When we commented to the staff about it, we were told that people get tired of watching the news!! But, he changed the channel for us. The breakfast has gone down hill from our May stay and was not consistant ... from fresh fruit not being offered every day and sometimes only one kind of juice to having only one choice of jelly!! The jelly is a small deal, but on top of everything else, it was annoying. Thru all this, the staff remained friendly and courteous. Altho convenient to what we want to do, we'll pay a little extra and be more comfortable someplace else in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews