We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for 2 year olds”

SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.98*
and up
SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona
Ranked #3 of 58 things to do in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dive in to SEA LIFE Arizona Aquarium! Be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through an amazing underwater world. Prepare for astonishingly close views of everything from sea stars to sharks, rays, octopus and a rescued green sea turtle! To get any closer you'll have to get wet! Enjoy, thousands of sea creatures in 30 displays, interactive touch tanks, an amazing 360 degree ocean tunnel, talks, feeds, and much more!
Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just for 2 year olds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm an artist currently doing a series of paintings on fish. There are very few places to look at and research live moving fish in Arizona, so when I came across this place, I was hopeful. The reviews and the appearance implies that it is geared towards small children. And it didn't help we were in line with a bunch of kids. So our expectations were very slim, we figured if they had any fish at all it would be a worth whiled trip. Honestly, the idea of an aquarium attraction in Tempe, Arizona baffled us. We started thinking it was just going to be virtual or a fossil museum. But, it's not.

They have hundreds of different fish; a variety of tropical, sharks, sting rays, and an assortment of turtles! There is a whole room just for sea horses too. The displays, or aquariums, are artistically crafted and laid out architecturally. It's educational, and they do have a whole story board suited for kids. Including people walking around in costumes. It's a great place for a whole family. I think any age, regardless of a level of interest, would get a kick out of this place. Don't be fooled by the amount of kids or the fact that it is in a mall, it's worth a trip. And if you buy your tickets online, you can save some money.
This is a wonderful place, and I'll be back for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StephStar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley T, General Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello

We pride ourselves on making sure we appeal to all ages and have some great displays, thank you very ,much for your awesome review and the great photo you posted!

Hope to see you again at SEA LIFE Arizona

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    155
    92
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A small but enjoyable aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our 2-year old toddler is a big fan of aquariums, and while Sea Life Aquarium is a lot smaller than the other aquariums he has visited, he had a blast running around the various exhibits. The aquarium is a little over-priced, but it gave our family a good 1 1/2 hour of fun. I also appreciate the fact that it is a walk through aquarium with one path, rather than an aquarium where you wander through different passages with one central area that you keep crossing. Overall, a great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burculian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley T, General Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi

It is great to hear you enjoyed SEA LIFE Arizona and that your 2 year old enjoyed the colorful variety of fish we have too

We hope to see you again at SEA LIFE Arizona!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Much bigger and better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had gone for Mother’s Day as they had a nice discount for moms! The line took about 30 minutes to get through, I don’t imagine that it’s that busy all the time? Either way, after we entered, the first thing that happens is that you have to have pictures taken doing all sorts of funny poses. We didn’t want to buy the photos, I don’t remember the price, but we all agreed to spend the money for lunch and use our own cameras lol.

You do get stamped so you can return as much as you’d like until it closes that day.

Once inside though, all the exhibits were nicely displayed, very clean and surprisingly for being inside a mall…it was massive!

We spent a good hour or so in there learning about all the creatures, the bubble viewing areas inside some of the tanks were clever. But it’s more for little children than adults, it’s very low clearance. I think there were about 3 or 4 little tanks you can touch starfish, horseshoe crabs and some other critters. Apparently there is shark petting but it stated that the trainer/person running that was off to observe mother’s day. I think this place is a wonderful little gem, and the nice part is that you can walk the mall afterwards and get something to nibble.

The gift shop wasn’t too bad, had lots of medium prices knick knacks. They also had a nice play area for the kids to exercise while parents relaxed.

Definitely recommended, especially if you’re looking for something to do indoors to avoid the wonderful Arizona heat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CampAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley T, General Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi!

It is always awesome to hear people have enjoyed there time at SEA LIFE Arizona and I love to hear that we are a pleasant surprise!

We hope to see you again soon at SEA LIFE Arizona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Region, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect size”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Sometimes attractions are so huge that we either feel we have to rush to get it all in or stop when we're tired and wonder what we missed! This aquarium is the perfect size. The tanks are low enough for younger kids to enjoy the view. There is a diverse collection of sea life here and plenty of spots to sit and just enjoy the surroundings. I noticed that young children were mesmerized. It was quiet and serene. We enjoyed our visit very much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimmieJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley T, General Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello!

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our aquarium and loved the displays of colorful fish as much as we do! We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic introduction to sealife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you have been to SeaWorld then skip this. If not, it is convenient and does not require a big chunk of time. Quick & easy but obviously, very small. Perfect for little kids and the elderly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley T, General Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the aquarium and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to SEA LIFE Aquarium Arizona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing