We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Peru

Villa Peru
Ranked #180 of 759 Restaurants in Tempe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our hotel was only two blocks away and we had read the reviews on Tripadvisor. In addition, our hotel had a coupon for a free fountain drink. We learned that it is under new management since August of 2011 and there may have been a few changes in the menu. Our hostess was expecting her first baby in January. Since we did not really want fountain drinks, our hostess let all four of us try their special drink and it was great. Food was presented beautifully - the rice was served in the shape of a pyramid. I tried the lamb shank and it was absolutely delicious. We all loved dinner so much that we came back for lunch the next day.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rimjhim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a nice little cafe. Got a Groupon offer, read reviews on Trip Advisor and since I was taking a trip to the area I bought the Groupon. The food was yummy! Our bill was $4 less than the "value" of the groupon, but we still had to pay $5 and some change. Go figure. We didn't bother complaining. It wasn't worth it. The waitress was such a sweety.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kinkytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gabriella, the owner and host, is the most hospitable and accommodating restauranteur I have had the pleasure of meeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We read the review on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We wished they had wine or beer but the food, the hospitality, and the knowledge she demonstrated made our wish for wine vanish. A very simple place that could use a bit more atmosphere. Delightful nonetheless. NO msg and where there is some "hidden" by manufacturers, she made sure we knew - like in most soy sauce. My husband is allergic and we have been mislead many times. Plus, as she said, "A good chef doesn't need it and it is bad you for you." If you like Peruvian food or have not tried it, visit this simple place and enjoy. Gabriella, we know liquor licenses are expensive but you should find a way to get one as you grow! We will return when we travel to Arizona again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above & Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

This little restaurant not only had great food, but it also had great service. We walked in about fifteen minutes to closing time and asked if they would rather just have us come another night since we were staying in a resort right across the street and the server, named Gabriella, was more than happy to stay the extra time to give us service. She stayed at our table and explained the menu in great detail! We are from Chicago and our family has a specific dish that we love and we asked if they had it on the menu and were saddened to find out they did not. We tried other items instead and each dish was magnificent! The atmosphere was great, and the food was delicious....we were more than pleased! Then, at the end of our meal, Gabriella was talking to us about the dish that we love and she told us if we came back the next day they were open, she would make it especially for us, even though it wasn't on the menu! I was so shocked at how generous this server was! I came in the following day to get the food and she had it already prepared so it took just minutes to make and this dish, once again, was delicious! She even said that they decided to add it to the menu! The service, atmosphere, and food in this restaurant was fantastic! The server went above and beyond her job requirements and I was extremely pleased! If you are in the Scottsdale/Tempe area, you don't want to.miss out on this best kept secret of Tempe, Arizona! We would definitely come eat at Villa Peru again, and would recommend it to anyone!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizonaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Satisfy your craving for Peruvian food. We did!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

5 Colombians ate at this restaurant last night! We have been looking for a place like this for awhile. We did try another Peruvian place in the area but this one knocks the other one out of the ball park. Villa Peru was clean, classy and the owner/chef made us feel right at home. The food was to die for. The fish was fresh, the Lomo Saltado was incredible and fried plantains hit the spot. We had a 12 yr old with us and of course this was not her cup of tea ....but amazingly they had "chicken tenders and french fries" I believe it is in the appetizer section of the menu. So this restaurant made it a hit with a 12 yr old too. We will definitely be coming back. More than once and bringing the family from Ohio to this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aburton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Peru also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Villa Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing