We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy, caring hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy, caring hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Front desk staff are the best that we encountered in our most recent vacation into the greater phoenix area. Complimentary breakfast was great with a menu change every day and a variety of breakfast options that NO one should complain about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate you spotlighting our Front Desk staff and the great service they provide as will as our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We hope when your travels bring you back to the greater Phoenix area that you choose to come back and stay with us.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    254
    89
    33
    35
See reviews for
213
224
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed for one night enroute to a family reunion. The hotel is located near I-10 and has easy access to east and southeast side of the Phoenix metro. The hotel was clean and our interactions with the staff we very friendly. Staff recommendations on local restaurants were good and on the mark. Our room was clean and very quiet even though we were overlooking the pool. As others have stated the hotel decor is a bit dated and items in the our room showed some wear.

Wifi was a bit spotty in the room. Wired internet was fine. The included breakfast was okay and average stock of cereal, yogurt, waffles, rolls, etc. You can easily get enough to fill you up and not need to worry about food until lunch. The pool area is small, but good enough for a soak. The work out facility is in an old room and has two treadmills and an elliptical. We worked out off site.

If you are coming to the area for a few days or seeing ASU or Spring Training on this side of the metro I would recommend this hotel. Nothing is walkable, but there is plenty of shopping and restaurants within a five minute drive of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the third or fourth floor. The first and second are more chive and have lots of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at our hotel.
We appriecate your business and that you recommend our hotel if visiting ASU or Spring Training.
When your travels bring you back to our area we hope that you stay with us again.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I love this hotel. It is clean, the staff are all very nice, helpful, and courteous. The breakfast is very good. I like the rooms that allow you to go out to the patio without going thru the hotel. We have stayed at this hotel each time we go to the Phoenix area to visit family for the last several years. Love it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 166carolynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your most recent stay at our hotel. And we were happy to see that you "Love it" here. We appreciate your business and that you've stayed with us year over year while in Phoenix visiting family.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stay at Best Western often. Usually decent quality for a reasonable price. This time I was disappointed. The wi-fi didn't work the entire time I was there. I advised them to reboot the router, they had a lot of people staying there, probably overloaded, but I don't think they knew what I was talking about. My hair dryer didn't work. I pressed all the reset buttons then I called down to the font desk. They said they would send up a new one. Well, two (!) men arrived while I was just out of the shower, hair dripping wet, with a new wall mounted hair dryer in hand, read to mount it on the wall. Are you serious? For $15 they could have run down to CVS (literally across the street) picked up a portable hair dryer and made me happy. Instead, two men enter my room, me half way dressed, wet hair, they press the reset buttons, hair dryer starts up, they look at me like I'm stupid and I shoo them out of the bathroom. I check out immediately cancelling next night and check in at a Holiday Inn across the street. I'm the customer. Don't make me feel stupid and don't send two strange men to my room while I'm showering!!!

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Express across the street is a little more expensive but on the same side of the street...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mary2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreicate the feedback and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our management team will review and discuss your concerns and share with our employees.

We would like an opportunity to speak with you directly and in more detail. It is never our intent to have guests leave and check out early when problems can and should be resolved. Feel free at your convenience to call the hotel directly and ask to speak with myself or anyone on the management team can assist.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We arrived on February 8th. We phoned for a shuttle after we landed. We missed our flight and caught the next flight so we were a while looking for our luggage. The shuttle driver called us and was waiting for us. It is only a 10 min ride from sky harbour airport. We also took the shuttle bak to the airport the next day to rent a car. Booked for 2 nights thru booking.com. We were able to add another night, just had to check out and recheck in. We came back a day later without a reservation. We got a room but were told it was sold out for the next two nights. Next morning went to the desk and were able to book for 3 more nights. The breakfast is very good. Only wish it was available longer. It ends at 9:30 am would be nice to have later especially on weekends. Overall a very good hotel. Wifi is very reliable all over the building and outside by the pool.

Room Tip: Very quiet I always like to have the upper rooms so I don't hear the footsteps of people above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. Glad to hear the shuttle exceeded your expectations and that you were able to extend your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and your business. Please come back and stay with us again when traveling back to our area.


Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Tempe by the Mall for three nights in late January and we were completely impressed by the accomodations, the hotel staff, the location, and the amenities! I've been traveling to the Phoenix area for many years and this was one of the Nicest, Cleanest, Best Maintained hotels we have ever found. From the flawless and friendly check-in with front desk person Roy whose friendly helpful attitude really kicked off our stay here in a positive way to the efficient and hard working housekeeping staff who went to great lengths to actually do a thorough job of tidying up our room daily to the ease of checking out, this place was fantatastic! The hotel has a swimming pool with extra towels and a free breakfast with featured items that stands above the majority of other hotel 'breakfasts". Its a ten minute drive to and from Sky Harbor Airport and about a one minute drive to the Arizona Mills Mall if you catch the lights! Our room was large enough with wi-fi service that worked very well and a nice flat screen tv with ample channel choices including HBO. The refrigerater and microwave were clean. The bed was comfortable with two types of pillows firm and soft. The bathroom included a nice shower and a large countertop with plenty of room to spread out your toiletries. And did I mention that this hotel is clean! The hotel maintenance here is great, they really take the time to make sure that your room is as clean as your own home and that is very nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lectricpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Wow!! What a great review and thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate you HIGHLIGHTING the cleanliness of the hotel and your guest room. Our housekeeping team works very hard and I will make sure to let them know that their hard work is being recognized.

We sure hope when traveling back to our area to choose to stay with us again.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Not the standard I would have expected for a BW Plus The room was dated with wall paper attempting to cover over a damaged wall. The breakfast was very good Both shuttle drivers from and to the airport were very good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BETTY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent at our hotel.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the shuttle to and from the airport. Please know that this Spring we have some exciting changes coming and we will be doing updates throughout the hotel. We hope that you come back and stay with us again while traveling in our area.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
4.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
3.7 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall

Property: Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. We are a Green Hotel, and received 2015 Green Key Certificate. The Green Key Eco-Rating Program is the first of its kind to rank, certify and inspect hotels and resorts in North America based on their commitment to sustainable “green” operations. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 157 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing