We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a crapshoot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a crapshoot”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This used to be my go-to hotel. I was very satisfied with it. But it was a crapshoot; I had just been getting lucky. Some of their rooms have comfortable beds and some of the other rooms have beds like boards. After speaking with four different people, on the phone and in person, getting conflicting information, turns out, they can't tell you which ones are which when you try to make a reservation with them, and if you end up with a bad bed, they won't budge an inch to comp you anything or apologize. Also, the last time I was there, there was a significant cleanliness issue. Again, no apology, no comp. At least the staff is friendly. The manager, on the other hand is an example of someone who has zero experience in the realm of customer service. He clearly hates his job, or his customers, or both. How he became the manager of a hotel is beyond me. From now on, I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_G2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with our hotel.

We sincerely apologize that our rooms specifically our beds did not meet your needs.

We do our best to address and rectify all obstacles before our guests leave the hotel.

We would like an opportunity to discuss in more detail your recent visit. Please feel free to call the hotel directly and speak with myself or our General Manager.

Thank you,


Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    254
    89
    33
    35
See reviews for
213
224
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2014

from the shuttle van that picked me up to the checking in staff it was a very smooth and pleasant process. I enjoy the staff they were very helpful, specially when asking of activities in and around the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate you mentioning the excellent service you received from our Shuttle/Van driver and our Front Desk associates.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for a week
The staff was all very friendly and helpful., without being intrusive.
Free shuttle to and from the airport, breakfast room, well heated pool all help to make a good week with 2 children.
Our room was clean and well lit, the heating and cooling easy to control and the window opens.
The beds were nice and soft and 5 pillows per bed. Only slight defect to the room appearance was the tub needed refinishing which made it appear dirty although clean.
The Arizona mills mall was only a half mile walk and city buses to the rest of Phoenix were at the corner. Many restaurants are within walking distance
This property is reasonably priced especially considering all the extras.

Room Tip: Main floor has only a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that our location proved to be a home run for you and our hotel met your needs while in the area.

We hope that when it is time to go shopping again you come back and stay with us!

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were there only one night on our way back east. What I think I liked the best was a nice amount of grass outside and easy to find doggie poop bags and receptacles. We always bring our own bags, but it was nice to have them out there. I didn't really expect there to be a clearly marked dog area with grass out here in the desert, so it was nice to find.

Otherwise, the room was very nice, clean and more than adequate. The wi-fi worked well and was easy to get on to.

The only slightly sour notes relate more to Best Western's website. There is no way to just check a box when you have a pet. Apparently, you have to intuit that you need to put a note under their "special request" section.

So when I called in regarding the reservation, I mentioned the pet and that there was no way to easily let them know this on their website. The young man chided me for not letting them know, saying in effect, that they would check to see if they had any "pet friendly" rooms. I have no idea if we got a pet friendly room or not - we did get a room!

Lastly, the food was just okay - nothing special. But that is usually the case with the breakfast buffets. I really wish they'd up their game on these, but since we were on the road to the next location, we viewed it as carbo loading for the next stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and are so glad that our pet friendly hotel proved to be a hit for your puppy.

We do offer a pet friendly room type option when booking on bestwestern.com. If the room type is sold out and no longer available then you would no longer be able to see that room type as an option to select when booking. Glad to hear you utilized the special requests section and we were able to accommodate your needs upon check-in.

Please come back and stay with us again when traveling through our area.

Kellie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The breakfast was great, with a lot of variety. The room was very clean and tidy. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. It was a pleasurable stay. Would come back again for sure! We have stayed with Best Western many time throughout the USA and Canada and have never had a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Monty794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and that our hotel met all your needs will traveling to our area.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We reserved 3 rooms to attend a major sporting event. Check in was a breeze! The hotel is in great shape and the free hot breakfast was very good. The hotel staff was great and we used the local shuttle, which was convenient. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us and "highly" recommending our hotel.

We appreciate your business and are so happy to know that our service, breakfast and shuttle met your needs during your time in the Phoenix/Tempe area for your sporting event.

Please come back and stay with us again. We look forward to your return.

Happy New Year!

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

1) Toilets flush with too much water and bubbles, almost like sewer lines are backed up. Been this way for several years. 2) WiFi internet blocks certain ports, most important, PPTP for VPN. OpenVPN client seem to work ok. Don't ask desk clerk, they haven't any clue, or bring your own MiFi device to do any work. 3) If you reserve online, you better call to confirm your reservation. It seems they don't periodically monitor their online reservations for special requests. 4) Last but not least, the area has lots of traffic, and people who make encampments nearby so consider driving a rental and leaving the valuables at home...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We sincerely apologize that our hotel didn't meet your travel needs while in the Phoenix/Tempe area.

The holidays are a busy time for our location as we are directly across the street from an Outlet Shopping Mall and right off of Interstate-10 , and busy and heavy traffic is to be expected.

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

Director of Sales
Kellie Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
4.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
3.7 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall

Property: Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. We are a Green Hotel, and received 2015 Green Key Certificate. The Green Key Eco-Rating Program is the first of its kind to rank, certify and inspect hotels and resorts in North America based on their commitment to sustainable “green” operations. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 157 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing