We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just as the previous review states, all was just fine with this hotel but the staff is what is outstanding. Everyone was friendly and said hello, we felt very welcome here. Larry, the front desk supervisor, is huge asset to Best Western and a huge shout out to him for making our stay so comfortable. We did have a few issues with the tub drain backing up, but is was no problem and handled. The beds and pillows were perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool view is nice but can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memphis59106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for the great response! Larry sure does appreciate your compliment and our staff is very happy to know that you found them outstanding. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Please check in with us on Facebook for any specials we may be holding during your future stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    247
    88
    31
    30
See reviews for
209
220
64
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Jerrold Williams has trained his staff to the level of a Ritz Carlton. Great location for baseball spring trainning. While the rooms are fine, the breakfast is fine, its the friendly staff that mkes this hotel a excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camusfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Our team appreciates the compliments because we strive to deliver the best customer service to our guests, everytime. I also want to personally thank you for your praise, it means a lot. Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Jerrold Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great stay. Clean hotel and rooms one of the best I have ever seen. Nice clean pool area. Good breakfast with nice selections. Comfortable beds. But most importantly friendly knowledgable staff. Always a friendly hello.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Barb C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Our staff appreciates the compliments, as do the rest of our staff who help maintain all of the areas you complimented. We always do our best to make our guest feel that we care, so hopefully we did that for you and you will be back to visit us soon.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent a quick night here after touring Southern Arizona so we could be near the airport for our very early AM flight. We thought the hotel was clean, and that the employees were very friendly and nice. The pool was nice as well. The bed was a little hard, but it was OK for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoldfien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to respond regarding your stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies for the mattress feeling hard. We recently replaced many of our mattresses and being new, they may feel a little hard. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you,
Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

There were many business people in the hotel. The Breakfast was good. There is a walmart a couple miles up the street and a costco's. This hotel offers 24 hr shuttle service to the airport. The only complaint was had to get the key rekeyed 6 or 7 times before they finally figured something was wrong. The pool attendent said we could not go in the pool due to the PH. The wall shampoo/conditioners have to go everytime I bent down I hit those things with my head coming back up..................The male front desk agent was super friendly....................

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nano262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I wanted to first apologize for the key challenges we were having during your stay. I also apologize for having to balance out the PH of our pool while you were here. We do like to make sure our pool is at it's best for our guest. As far as the dispensers in the bathroom, Ouch... I am so sorry the height of those dispensers happened to interfere with your height. I am glad our front desk was friendly and we do hope you will stay with us again, and have a more positive experience.

Best Regards,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
731 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed many times at this property and once again the staff was great. Of note are the staff and the breakfast fare. The people here care and the food is better than most places elsewhere. The hotel is convenient to shopping, great restaurants and the freeway. If you are looking for interesting Mexican fast food consider El Polo Loco, which is within walking distance just down Priest Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff. We do truly care and are glad that reflected from us, during your stay. Please visit us again soon and when you do, check out our Facebook page to see if there are other restaurants featured, that are recommended. facebook.com/bwtempe.

Sincerely,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located right across the street from arizona mills mall and really close to a brand new outlet mall as well...while I dont remember that being the best neighborhood when living in the phoenix area, on this trip I found it to be the perfect location. I was about 15-20 minutes from anywhere I needed to be, which in phoenix area is great! While the hotel is on the older side we found it to be very quiet and very friendly staff. When we asked to switch rooms when we first got there they didnt give us any problems whatsoever. The staff was all smiles. And you gotta love the complimentary chocolate chip cookes. YUMM. We didnt hear much noise and slept great. It wasnt really a busy season either so we basically had the dining room all to ourselves for breakfast. breakfast is also included in this hotel which is harder to find these days. Its a great breakfast at that with a variety of foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel if its in the vicinity you need to be in on your trip.

Room Tip: as all hotels, the highest floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Shira K,

Thanks for the review. It is always nice to know that our staff is doing what they can to accommodate our guests. You are not the only one who loves our Chocolate Chip Cookies! That is just another thing we like to do for our guests and we are glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back soon.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
3.7 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
Address: 5300 S Priest Dr, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. We are a Green Hotel, and received 2015 Green Key Certificate. The Green Key Eco-Rating Program is the first of its kind to rank, certify and inspect hotels and resorts in North America based on their commitment to sustainable “green” operations. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 157 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing