We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty typical Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty typical Best Western”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

One thing seasoned travelers have come to expect is consistency in the Best Western chain. Rooms are typically clean, efficiently laid out, with decent bathrooms, just enough frills to make it comfortable, a helpful front desk staff, and good value for the money. No difference with this property. The place caters to a percentage of business travelers, but fills up in the spring with northerners escaping the weather and baseball spring training fans. Breakfast is good, with an assortment of items to satisfy everyone. Well located right off the Interstate 10 freeway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your candid response. We appreciate the time you took to post your review and are glad that you found our staff friendly and our breakfast good. I would be interested in getting more feedback regarding what could have set us apart from all of the rest. Please contact me directly, as we do believe in continued improvement.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
480-820-7500 x2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    254
    89
    33
    35
See reviews for
213
224
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend some baseball games. Great location. The room was clean and a good size. Right across from the mall and a great happy hour at Claim Jumper. The breakfast was busy but had everything you could want, and they mixed up the hot items every day. Managers very nice - seemed to have time to talk to everyone. Will return next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our breakfast and clean rooms. We are happy to hear that you visited the nearby restaurants and mall. Our location is definitely great for shopping and entertainment, as well as many other needs. It is great to know that you plan to come back next year and we look forward to your visit.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Az
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this facility on many business trips and have always been extremely satisfied with the total experience. We do not stay there for pleasure during the Spring baseball training, however, we do understand Phoenix business raising rates at that time. We are grateful this Best Western is in Phoenix!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to hear that we are in a good location for you during your business travel. Please try us out for leisure sometime and relax in our pool and check out the dining and entertainment around us. We would love to have you with us on a different occasion.

Make it a Great Day!

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can only say good things about this property! My buddy and I were down for the NHRA Drag Races at Firebird International, and booked this hotel by phone directly to the hotel.
The staff were very friendly, and helpful! The rooms were clean, and well kept! Great, easy to access location.
As I said, Stay here!

Room Tip: Quiet enough location, should not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HercMech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for the nice review. We are happy that you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms clean. We hope you enjoyed the NHRA Dragraces and welcome you to stay with us again, next time they are having another event; or any other time.

Thanks again,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We started and ended our 2 week visit of Arizona here ... what a great way to start and end! There has been much on here about what a nice hotel it is with the nice rooms and breakfast which we had expected and is so true but where this hotel excels is with the service. From the time we got on the shuttle, arrival and during both stays everyone was exceptional as they treated us on a personal and caring basis. A true example of the interest they took in us as guests was when Jerrold inquired about how our trip went when we returned to the hotel. Given all the guests that came through the hotel in the 2 weeks between, not sure how he remembered but it was sincere. This attutude was throughout whether it was the front desk, breakfast staff, maintenance or shuttle driver. It even spilled over to the guests, many of them who were longer term guests, who were the friendlist of any places we stayed.
Thanks for 2 great stays Jerrold and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor facing the pool if you like quiet. However, if you are staying for a few days, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our General Manager, Jerrold and staff. We appreciate the time you have taken to acknowledge and compliment our customer service. We truly do believe in making sure that when you stay with us, that you stay with people who care. It is always wonderful to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Make it a Great Day,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very well maintained property. Immaculate rooms, lobby & grounds. Great hot breakfast and a very friendly staff. Upon arrival, Jerrold Williams, General Manager, gave me his card and asked me to call him if I needed anything. I did not because the hotel is so well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and clean.
A great place to stay if you are in the Tempe area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is great to hear that our hotel was well maintained. Our staff really cares about doing what we can to meet our guest's expectations. Please make sure to keep that card our General Manager gave you, in case you want to book a future stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut Lake, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel. I stayed here last year, too, as it is close to ASU where my daughter works.
Hotel transportation picked us up at the airport when we arrived. Ralph was terrific. We were meeting my son at this hotel, and the staff placed our rooms right beside each other. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable but the pillows not so much. The staff was unbelieveably helpful with every question no matter how trivial. The breakfasts were nice. There was different hot food each day and a nice variety of fruit, cereal, bagels, Danish, etc. The pool was heated, and we enjoyed it each day. The rooms were kept clean during our stay.
We went to Tucson for the weekend then returned to this hotel for another 2 day stay. We were told that we could have two rooms next to each other again but when the key cards didn't work, they checked and said they were having computer problems, and it appeared that someone was already in the one room. The only rooms they could put us in were as far apart as two rooms could get. I know for a fact that no one was in the room next to ours and we could have been placed together if they would only have checked a bit further. For this reason, I lowered my rating from 5 to 4. I have a bad hip, and it was a long, hard walk to get to the other room. We were disappointed that we weren't coming back to the same two rooms but understood. Not getting the two rooms beside each other is harder to understand. However, everything else was good, and the pillows were better in these rooms. So, all in all, I do recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay near ASU and/or Arizona Mills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdr370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience during your stay. We are glad to hear your stay was positive, however it seems that things were not as convenient as you expected and I would like to utilize your feedback as a training opportunity for our staff. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at 480-820-7500 x 2161, M-F 8am-5pm, I would like to collect some more information. We appreciate your honest feedback.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
4.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
3.7 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tempe/Phoenix Airport InnSuites Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall

Property: Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283-1049 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#6 Family Hotel in Tempe
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. We are a Green Hotel, and received 2015 Green Key Certificate. The Green Key Eco-Rating Program is the first of its kind to rank, certify and inspect hotels and resorts in North America based on their commitment to sustainable “green” operations. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 157 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Best Western, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing