We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish value”
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed May 11, 2009

The Aloft Tempe is stylish, modern, and has a different attitude about hospitality than most hotels. They take self-serve to a new level, you don't even need the front desk staff to check in or check out, you can do both at a kiosk in the lobby, as well as print your boarding pass. In lieu of room service there is a self-serve food bar with packaged and some fresh foods. There is no restaurant, but there is a funky bar and a billiards table in the stylish lobby, and across the street are In-n-Out Burger, Starbucks, a yogurt shop and a sub shop. Music in lobby is funky and a little too loud, but staff is very nice and accommodating. Great resort-like pool area, but no poolside service (and they need to up the heat in the heated pool). The rooms are not large, but again very well styled. Nice sized shower, interestingly situated so there is some natural light from the bedroom. You do walk into the sink area of the bath upon entering the room, and the closet is meant for hanging 3 or 4 items at most (it isn't really a closet, more of a locker with a curtain, also in the sink area). Great 42 inch TV and cool multi-media TV hookup for your laptop, ipod, etc, as long as you have the right AV cord to do it. I'm a geek but even I don't travle with that much cordage. Also cool retro bedside clock and great bedside light for reading in bed. I did not experience the hourly wi-fi log-in that another reviewer did; I logged in once per 24 hours, which is normal for most hotels. I got an internet only rate of $100 per night and I would say it was a very good value, much better than other, more-vanilla chains in the same price range.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsegg0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

I've been meaning to check out the new Aloft brand from Starwood, so I was pleased to find one right near Tempe Town Lake. Friendly check-in girl indicated that I could access the jogging paths around the lake just across the parking lot - very convenient. Hip interiors, love the inclusion of a lobby bar, great landscaping, comfy bed. One minor observation: they have a all-in-one entertainment box that you can hook up your iPod/laptop/whatever and have it play on the TV, but you need to bring your own audio jack cord to connect to an iPod.
Overall, I found it much more preferable to almost any other highway-side midgrade hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Spent the week of April 3rd for business. They allowed me to check-in at noon as opposed to 3pm, which was great. I was expecting more out of the rooms. When entering the room, you basically walk into the bathroom. Great 42" HDTV with great movies and channels. Large, comfortable bed. A small desk and a small chair to go along with it. There was no place to sit in a chair and watch TV. Had to continue to sign-in to the internet on an hourly basis - free of charge, but an inconvenience. It's about a 150 room hotel - I would say there were less than 30-40 rooms occupied while I was there. The pool area is very nice, the gym was adequate. The bar/lounge area was appealing - but of the 4 nights I was there, I saw less than 10 people, in total, sitting at the bar throughout the week. In-and-Out directly across the street - which is always a plus when visiting the west coast. The website for the hotel is excellent - but overall, the rooms are lacking some basics - which is not shocking given The W's penchant for over-hyping their locations and amenities. I paid $127 per night for a basic room with a king sized bed. I would return for the same deal, but would look elsewhere if had to pay more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soupsmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

First the good. aloft is stylish and cool. Self serve food items are nice, good variety, fresh and reasonably priced. Staff is very friendly and offered to show us the hotel features upon check in. Pool is nicely landscaped for a small hotel pool. Bliss products in the room. Free internet. Cool XYZ bar with food items. Computers in the lobby with a printer for boarding passes. Pool table. Large HD flat panel TVs. Fitness center in great shape. There's an In-n-Out across the street.

The not so good. To save $$$ shampoo and shower gel are in dispensers instead of bottles. Good green solution but takes some getting used to. Being greeted with aloha. C'mon. And the elevators are Lifts and the bathrooms are called the WCs. Whatever. Beds could use a few more pillow.

The bad. Thin walls. You can hear people raising and lowering their shades in the room next door. On our stay there were problems with hot water in the morning. Staff says engineering had fixed it, but that's ugly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giorgio305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerveD_017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamia S, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
Thank mabetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe/ASU Area
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $132 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Tempe offering guests a new modern, state-of-the-art facility in a LEED Certified environment. Guests will love to meet, mix and mingle with friends and colleagues at the ever popular and social w xyz bar, where they can enjoy a glass of vino or our signature elixirs and appetizers while shooting a game of billiards and spinning their favorite tunes. They can also partake in sweet, savory and healthy snacks available from re:fuel our 24/7 grab-n-go pantry. Plus, guests can always stay connected with complimentary WIFI and stay fit with Re:charge fitness center and Splash outdoor pool. Arf Program includes dogs travel free with no pet deposits. Convenient location near ASU and Sun Devils Stadium. Easy access to Tempe, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa and 4 miles to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Cost effective dining options across the street-In 'n Out Burger, Waba Grill, Jersey Mike's Subs, Panchero's and Starbucks. Style at a Steal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing