We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this location in mid March for Cubs Spring Training and a wedding, and this property was absolute perfection. The bar in the lobby at night is convenient and friendly. We had a bartender named Sam I believe..I hope I got that I right. She was so friendly and welcoming as was all the staff! We liked how everything was just so simple! Everything was extremely clean and you can't beat the location! Across the parking lot is In-N-Out Burger, Starbucks, Yogurtland, Wing Stop, etc., and around the corner is the Tempe Marketplace which is where we found ourselves a lot of the time! ASU is down the street and the airport is also a 10 minute drive! There are so many restaurants, bars, and good shopping in the Tempe Marketplace! Bottom line...this hotel is perfect simplicity with a great price and great location. I am already looking to book again this fall! Very modern rooms equipped with everything you would need...including complimentary bottled water! Double Bonus!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonHudsonMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear KingstonHudsonMummy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted to hear we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to providing the best experience possible and we look forward to seeing you again when you return in the fall. Thanks again for sharing and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've been staying in the Aloft in tempe 3 nights a week, every week for close to a year and a half.

Staff is very friendly, especially to their frequent business travelers. They'll hold luggage over weekends enabling you to travel light, and they know you by name. Checkout is probably the least drama I've ever had.

Before you book, you should know that the Aloft line is basically starwood's competition to e.g. Fairfield inn or Hampton Inn / HGI. This isn't a full-service hotel that you should compare to a hilton or a sheraton or a marriott. That means:

- Hotel doesn't have a restaurant, it has a self-service breakfast bar for sale.
- Hotel doesn't have a club lounge
- It doesn't have suites for upgrading.

So: If you want free breakfast at the club lounge, or a junior or full suite, this probably isn't the place.

But what it does have:

- Trendy room styles (it can be considered dim, it's a personal preference)
- Open room layout, no tubs, just shower
- Bar, Free Laundry.
- Close proximity to ASU
- Across the street from In&Out, starbucks, and yogurtland

Room Tip: This hotel is next to an onramp to the highway. College kids and fast cars like to take off on teh r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan B, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback especially since you have been one of our frequent guests. We’re glad to hear that is the simply things such as holding luggage and an easy checkout that help make your traveling a little easier. As you mentioned, for those travelers looking for all of the basic services with great customer service, a convenient location and a unique contemporary style we hope they find the Aloft Tempe as great of a hotel as you have. Thanks again for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft Tempe this week, at the end of a week mostly spent in Tucson. We understood that this is not a resort hotel (despite a small pool area) but picked it for its convenience to Sky Harbor Airport (about 10 minutes away) and restaurants in the ASU area of Tempe. For those unfamiliar with Aloft, it's the "budget" division of W Hotels and we used SPG points for this stay.

I would describe the hotel as just OK...maybe we are not the target demographic who would be more inclined to "hang" in the lobby, seated at the bar or using the pool table. For a relatively new facility, I was surprised at some maintenance issues, such as a faulty shower head, a balky AC unit (in 90-degree heat outside), broken window shades, dirty hallways, etc. No complaints about staff friendliness, etc. but I think they could do a better job with the "upkeep" aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dseesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall: We come to AZ once a year on vacation. We stayed here this year to save money. You get what you pay for. There is nothing "wrong" with the hotel. It's just not a vacation hotel. It's more of a business trip, travelling solo, kind of hotel. There is a very small pool, with only 2 recliners. Worst of all, the hotel building blocks the sunlight from the pool in the afternoon. We could hear traffic from the freeway and airplanes. (I personally find these sounds soothing, though, so I didn't mind.)

Service: Is nonexistent, literally. Get a cart "over there" (the front desk staff pointed) and get your own luggage from your car to your room. Take your ice bucket down to the front lobby to get a bag of ice. The front desk staff was not friendly, but not rude. They were just there, all business. They are really only there to check you in. They could probably be replaced with computers to make the stay even less expensive. Again, you get what you pay for. We are just used to staying at higher end spg hotels where you are greeted as you drive up and waited on hand and foot throughout the stay. The Aloft was more of a nice motel experience.

The rooms: Like most of the reviews say, this rooms are modern-ish, IKEA-ish, and dormroom-ish. There are no dresser drawers. Just a few open shelves and a very small "closet" (three hangers behind a shower curtain). So, we had to live out of our suitcases. The shower has no tub, which made bathing our baby interesting and challenging. Almost all of the in-room movies cost $16.99.

Location: Very convenient. Close to ASU. Close to Phoenix. Close to plenty of dining and shopping. The hotel is across the street from In-N-Out, Jersey Mikes, Yogurtland and Wingstop. Great places for our budget vacation.

Family fun: We took our toddler to the Phoenix Children's Museum. They have a special room for babies age 3 and under. We got there early and had lots of fun with our little one. It started to get really crowded in the afternoon though. We also went to Kiwanis Park, which had a fun play area and beautiful lake with ducks. Barro's Pizza has a little play area for kids while you eat, with leggos, a small play kitchen, etc.

Worship: Christ Life Church in Tempe is a great place to worship on Sunday morning, if you are looking for a church.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Aloft. The night concierge was especially friendly and helpful. It is close to restaurants and shopping and just a few minutes walk to Starbucks for morning coffee and tea or you can have the wonderful breakfast service with omelettes made for you! The rooms were extremely clean and everything was easily accessible. We enjoyed our omelettes out in the sunshine by the pool where it was beautiful and quiet!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here while in town for a meeting. The staff was great and the bar tender was top notch. He gave our groupe great recommendations on local grub and never had us waiting on a drink and all with a smile. Very relaxed environment. If I'm ever in the area again I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights for the “Rock & Roll Marathon”. Overall the entire hotel had a very positive, modern feel to it. We will definitely stay her again in the future.
The Pros:
- Clean lobby, halls, rooms
- Very open lobby which flowed to a great seating area with couches, flat screen TV’s, Bar, & a 24 hour snack area for on the go food/drinks
- Complimentary water, free internet, & free parking (a nice plus now days)
- Excellent location to Tempe town lake, ASU, & multiple restaurants in the area (across the street from “Inn & out burger” and “Starbucks”)
- Staff very friendly & accommodating
- The rooms were simple with everything easily accessible this ensured nothing was left behind in hidden/overlooked areas upon leaving
- The Shower was large with a “Rainfall shower” very nice after a Marathon!!!
The Cons:
- The in room A/C was very loud & even if the A/C was turned off the fan would come on and it was equally as loud, ultimately had to unplug the A/C unit
- The pool was supposed to be heated but it was DEFINITELY NOT, would have been nice to take a little swim
- No Spa!!!!!
- The Pool furniture was old & shabby
- No Room service

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sboxrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.5 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#17 of 53 in Tempe
233 reviews
1 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $129 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Tempe offering guests a new modern, state-of-the-art facility in a LEED Certified environment. Guests will love to meet, mix and mingle with friends and colleagues at the ever popular and social w xyz bar, where they can enjoy a glass of vino or our signature elixirs and appetizers while shooting a game of billiards and spinning their favorite tunes. They can also partake in sweet, savory and healthy snacks available from re:fuel our 24/7 grab-n-go pantry. Plus, guests can always stay connected with complimentary WIFI and stay fit with Re:charge fitness center and Splash outdoor pool. Arf Program includes dogs travel free with no pet deposits. Convenient location near ASU and Sun Devils Stadium. Easy access to Tempe, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa and 4 miles to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Cost effective dining options across the street-In 'n Out Burger, Waba Grill, Jersey Mike's Subs, Panchero's and Starbucks. Style at a Steal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing