We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Chic and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
2 reviews
“Chic and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While my boyfriend and I only stayed here one night, both of us really enjoyed our stay. From the comfortable bed and big TV to the roomy shower, complimentary waters and stylish decor, this hotel is a place I would gladly stay again. I actually wish I had reason to stay longer because I didn't get to try out their bar, which looked very cool. The staff was also very friendly, and the hotel is conveniently located near an In n' out, Starbucks and other eateries. If you're looking for a comfortable stay in a chic hotel, Aloft is a great choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartpnts02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
31
44
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Aloft Tempe 5 weeks in a row for business and cannot see myself staying anywhere else while I am in the area. There are plenty of hotels closer to where I am working, but I am willing to drive a little extra for the comfort and professionalism that this hotel provides. Kelsey and Leighta are absolute delights to deal with. Every evening when I get back from work, if Kelsey is working, she is always asking about my day. When she is there when I check-in, she is always very nice and welcoming me back. In the mornings when I leave to head to work, Leighta is there with a smile and a warm "Have a nice day", along with some teasing about me being up too early. Everyone that I have run across at this property has been professional and courteous, but these two REALLY stand out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcrtr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked into the Aloft after checking out of another hotel where I had a bad experience with a smoky smelling room. My room was standard Aloft quality, very clean and smoke free. Other reviews commented on the uncomfortable pillows and airport noise. The hotel is only miles from the airport, which I saw as a convenience since I had an early flight out. While the hotel is in the flight path to PHX, the noise didn't really bother me. I do agree with other reviewers that the pillows are NOT comfortable. I like the opportunity to make cafe purchases in the lobby and the XYZ bar is always a favorite gathering space, although there were two featured drinks on the menu that the bartender did not have the alcohol to make. The pool is nice and the fitness area is adequate. I had no problem getting the machine of my choice. For a low-cost business option and a good location (easy access to the 202 Loop), I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, otherwise your view will be of the 202 loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverLoseUrPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I just had the great fortune of choosing Aloft on a business stay in AZ. I will say that I was greatly impressed with the service and the attitude of the entire staff. They handled everything very well and I never felt like "just another number". I will definately recommend it to everyone! The rooms are great along with the location as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at the ALoft twice now for business.
I love the place.
Jaime at the front desk always so sweet to me.
He is so friendly and welcoming.
Actually the whole staff is like that.
I also love how they are an LEED hotel.
I specifically picked them because of this fact.
It makes me feel good that I am staying in a hotel that actually cares about the environment, cares if they use too much water (in a desert) and the employees care about me.

I recommend this to all the business travelers who have to stay in Phoenix on business. This is one of our approved vendor hotels and I am super glad it is!

Room Tip: I would stay on the pool side of the hotel. It is a tad more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Though I have stayed a Alofts in other cities, this was my first stay in Tempe and I was not disappointed. It was probably the nicest at which I've stayed to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the second we check-in. The breakfast options prepared by the chef were very good - excellent breakfast burrito. There is fast foot right out the front door, including a Jersey Mike's, a Starbucks, and, more importantly, an In-N-Out Burger.

It is only a very short drive to the Arizona State campus and Mill Avenue where you can find many additional restaurant and bar options.

Only complaint was my A/C seemed to struggle to get my room cold enough (410).

I would definitely recommend the property to those needing a nice option in Tempe and like a more modern "trendy" stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san ramon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel lobby and rooms are spacious and have a open feeling. Technology is definitely there! Staff is friendly. The music was a bit loud in the reception/lobby area for my taste but probably not for the younger generation. Convenient location to ASU-Tempe Campus; however, I do believe the hotel is situated near the Phoenix Airport flight path. Across the courtyard from In & Out Burgers and Yogurtland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
1.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Property: Aloft Tempe
Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing