We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at the ALoft twice now for business.
I love the place.
Jaime at the front desk always so sweet to me.
He is so friendly and welcoming.
Actually the whole staff is like that.
I also love how they are an LEED hotel.
I specifically picked them because of this fact.
It makes me feel good that I am staying in a hotel that actually cares about the environment, cares if they use too much water (in a desert) and the employees care about me.

I recommend this to all the business travelers who have to stay in Phoenix on business. This is one of our approved vendor hotels and I am super glad it is!

Room Tip: I would stay on the pool side of the hotel. It is a tad more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    104
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
32
44
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Though I have stayed a Alofts in other cities, this was my first stay in Tempe and I was not disappointed. It was probably the nicest at which I've stayed to date. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the second we check-in. The breakfast options prepared by the chef were very good - excellent breakfast burrito. There is fast foot right out the front door, including a Jersey Mike's, a Starbucks, and, more importantly, an In-N-Out Burger.

It is only a very short drive to the Arizona State campus and Mill Avenue where you can find many additional restaurant and bar options.

Only complaint was my A/C seemed to struggle to get my room cold enough (410).

I would definitely recommend the property to those needing a nice option in Tempe and like a more modern "trendy" stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san ramon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel lobby and rooms are spacious and have a open feeling. Technology is definitely there! Staff is friendly. The music was a bit loud in the reception/lobby area for my taste but probably not for the younger generation. Convenient location to ASU-Tempe Campus; however, I do believe the hotel is situated near the Phoenix Airport flight path. Across the courtyard from In & Out Burgers and Yogurtland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am a SPG Member (Starwood Preferred Guest) and staying at an ALoft is a treat. If you like the W Hotels, you will like an ALoft property.

My highlights during my stay:
- Great location near dining, shopping, and nightlife
- Rooms are very clean and cool
- Staff is friendly and hip
- Free WiFi
- Mediocre gym

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eltee_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is pretty cool! Very welcoming atmosphere with the friendly staff and club music playing through out the building (except in your room of course) . Check in is fast. Nice looking pool. The room was very nice too. also very trendy, nice bathroom sink and shower and lots of mirrors. the beds and pillows are soft, nice size lcd tv with a byod box to plug your devices to the tv. Its also very quiet so having a nights sleep isn't a issue. The only thing i had a issue with was the AC, you pretty much have no control of it, but it keeps the room cool, also fyi, there's no ice maker/vending machine at your selected floor, you have to ask for ice at the desk. Your close the Tempe mall (off the loop 202) and the university, and everything else. Always a blast to come back to Tempe,AZ for business reasons and a nice hotel too. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Bring your own internet wifi card. (due to a privacy concern with me entering my first/last last nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drives2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Check in was fast. The girl @ the front desk knew what she was doing. Lobby looked cool clean and trendy. Ordered a lemon drop martini and white Russian. I was told they were awesome. Prices were the same as in any bar in Tempe Az. The ac in room 407 under performed and was loud. The wall paper looked like it was bleeding glue or stained from water damage. I dont think the room should have been rented in this condition. Management needs to stay on top of these things or the hotel will quickly slip into the poor rating. Room 408 had broken blinds.

Room Tip: Room 408 looks like it had water damage at some point. Wall paper needs to be repaired. Room 407 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaycationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Having stayed here for six weeks so far, I would highly recommend the Aloft to everyone looking to vacation or stay for business while in the Tempe area! The staff are very accomodating and always helpful should any issue arise. The rooms are kept orderly and clean. The Wxyz bar has very friendly bartenders who are always quick to recommend a place to eat or sites to see while in the area. They make the evenings much more enjoyable while being away from home. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.4 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#9 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
1.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Property: Aloft Tempe
Address: 951 E Playa Del Norte Dr, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281-2151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Starwood and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing