We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Surprise

“Surprise surprise Mexican food in Surprise”
Review of Rio Mirage Cafe

Rio Mirage Cafe
Ranked #4 of 231 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Joined 4 friends at this hidden Mexican gem of a restaurant in none other than Surprise Arizona. Food was scrumptious and the server was extremely pleasant as we had a group of six adults. Lots of chatter as we all had not seen each other in years. Bravo to our waiter for the understanding.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulesBrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 565 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Wow is this what surprise has to offer??? Absolutely awful. Isn’t Arizona close to Mexico!? Why is the food so bad here? Who’s in charge? The drinks are good but everything else??? I have regrets.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank relaxininthesun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Found this great restaurant on a whim. Four of us were headed out of town when a traffic snarl kept us in Surprise. We decided the best idea was lunch. We pulled into a parking lot and before us was Rio Mirage. Our pleasant experience began with a peppermint margarita (YUM) followed by entrees. All four of us commented about the great taste of the food, atmosphere, menu and service. You know you have found a great place when the name keeps being spoken in conversations. Anxious to return and try other menu items.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank grannykj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Went for lunch not crowded. Took forever for a waitress then a long time to order food. Food came out and it was good. Next time I’ll sit at bar and have bartender take order.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Skater1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019

It had been a year since we visited; thought it was time for a special holiday lunch with friends and we were very pleased! Excellent food - I had the folded shredded beef quesadilla. Others had menudo (soup), burros and more. Everything (except bland rice) was wonderful.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Mirage Cafe also viewed

 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rio Mirage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing