We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Hearty Mexican Food”
Review of Rio Mirage Cafe

Rio Mirage Cafe
Ranked #3 of 190 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good & Hearty Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The service was very good and they have a nice variety of margarita options. The ambiance was OK, similar to Macayo's but not as festive. I had the chicken enchiladas which had good-sized portions of white-meat chicken but the sauce was a little watery. The flan dessert was excellent. My friends prefer this restaurant over Macayo's because the food is more flavorful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Esankay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    128
    54
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our New Best Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is the original Rio Mirage Cafe! It's far superior to the one at 13863 W Bell Rd, Surprise, AZ 85374! You never have to wait to be seated like you do at the one on W Bell Rd. Lots of food and very delicious! Everyone is friendly and helpful.

Went here on our anniversary. They surprised us with a fried ice cream desert!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Being that my husband is Hispanic, we thought we would give this restaurant a try. But to our Surprise, the food was yucky.
It was very generic, almost tasted like "Chinese" food. We love Chinese, but we had a hankering for Hispanic? Servers looked unhappy, and they were slow. we were unhappy with them and won't be back. :(

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Unhappee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I recently ate at Rio Mirage while on a trip to Arizona. If I were grading on the margaritas alone, I would give it a five. The service was a solid four, very good but not exceptional. The food quality and presentation was a three at best. The food seemed very poured from a can and heat up Tex/Mex. Not bad but not really good either. We were disappointed based on the reviews. It seemed odd to us that in a state that has such a large Latino population we were unable to find really top notice Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Restaurants”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We usually go to the original location in El Mirage. The food quality is more consistent there. That being said, you can't go wrong at either location. Very good food, friendly staff who recognize repeat customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Mirage Cafe also viewed

 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rio Mirage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing