We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying with Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites in Surprise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Like Staying with Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stay at the Windmill Suites about twice yearly when visiting family in Phoenix. My husband and I love this place. Comfortable homey and friendly. The grounds are gorgeous and love the ducks. Morning breakfast is very good and staff is amazing. Love saying Omar and Marilyn's friendly faces.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    81
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
156
106
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been guests for many, many times at Windmill Suites over the years since my parents live in the area. Probably have stayed at least 40 times......AND 40 times "everything" has more than met our needs. The all-room suites make for a spacious, comfortable stay. Pool area is much nicer than other 3 star hotels with the lawn & palm trees. The staff is wonderful always helpful. A truly relaxing property. Try it, you'll like it !!!

Room Tip: View rooms are completely quiet w/o hearing any car doors in parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights with a large group at the Windmill Suites. Everything we did with them, from the original discussions and contract to the last wave goodbye, left us anxious to return.

Some hotels struggle with the idea of a large group of youth staying at their property. Windmill Suites seems to take groups in stride and catered to us the whole time. They made it very easy to coordinate our group and were happy to help us make it happen.

Check in was painless and much easier than any of the hotels we have used previously. Kathaleen was great to work with and stayed in constant contact while we made the preparations. Everything was ready on our arrival and they went out of their way with little touches to make us feel welcome. She knows the "little things" they did and we consider them big things!

Front desk staff was always very helpful and courteous.

The business office has a couple of computers and printers available by asking for the key at the front desk.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were nice and not too firm. Personally I loved the pillows. Pull out couch in each room made accommodating our group that much easier. We slept wonderfully, even with a large group staying in the same hotel...

Plenty of warm water in the shower. Two basins on our King bed room. Clean and ample sized room. We have no complaints.

Breakfast was great with waffles, eggs, sausage and a variety of juices, breads, fruit, etc. Always plenty of everything, even when feeding our 150+ group. A nice plaza outside the eating area for our group and a great grassy area where we all got together for instructions for our travel. Yet, there is also a nice eating area inside the lobby that would provide a nice quiet place to enjoy a morning coffee and watch the news, or your favorite soap, on the flat screen.

Nice sized pool area that was kept clean and inviting with plenty of towels available. Many in our group took advantage of the pool on a couple of hot Phoenix evenings.

There's also a big pond next to the property with ducks and other wildlife that kids would love.

For us, the location was perfect as part of our long travel plans. Hopefully we were good guests and didn't make it rough for anyone that happened to be in the hotel at the same time. We tried hard to keep our group quiet and respectful.

I always scratch my head when I read some of the "terrible" or "poor" comments of some posters. (Generally by someone that rarely posts.) And they pick some off the wall thing that got their knickers in a knot.

Two of my "favorites" are the quality or content of breakfast. Completely subjective in nearly every hotel we've ever stayed in. You know what, your mom doesn't work there and isn't fixing breakfast for you.

The other is the "paper thin" walls and noise complaint. If you travel at all, and haven't figured out that you are staying in a hotel, literally right next door to other people, it's time to wake up, quit expecting people to act like monks living a vow of silence, and be proactive. Current technology and "white noise" leave no room for complaints about noise in any hotel venue, anywhere. Has worked great for me for years!

Obviously we're not the only ones to think the Windmill Suites is a great place to stay and worth every penny. We will be back and I would not hesitate to have my family stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NedGrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank You so much for your feedback on your stay with us. We value all guests but we love our groups all the moving parts to make a large group enjoy their stay is what makes the hotel business so exciting. We loved your group both time they stayed in the two week period and already are awaiting their arrival next year.

Guest such as your group is why I personally do what I do.

Thank You again for staying at our Windmill surprise.

Steven Rosario
General Manager
623-583-0133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

paid less then $85 with taxes per night, for a suite with lots of room to stretch out and relax. Rooms nicely appointed, very nice pool and hot tub, out of public view and quiet. Morning breakfast was very good - waffles, eggs, meat (bacon or sausage), biscuits an gravy, etc. Breakfast area kept very tide, staff person in attendance to take care of any needs, they even have a nice eating area under cover outside near pool to use. I had stayed here several years ago, had not used the place since, but this is now my number 1 hotel choice when I'm in Sun City West area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area vs. one overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Tom,

Thank you for giving us another try after a few years we are glad to be your number one when you come back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Thank you

Steven Rosario
General Manager
Windmill All Suites Surprise AZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our third visit to the Windmill Suites and, once again, we really enjoyed it. The rooms are great....a good size living room with a couch, large bedroom, two dressing areas in the bathroom and a nice kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. It's very nicely furnished, clean, and the bed is very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, with a large pond in front, which you don't find to many places in the Surprise area. The staff is great, and the breakfast is very good. My sister lives in the area, and this is the perfect place for us. I highly recommend the Windmill Suites when visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven r, General Manager at Windmill Suites in Surprise, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for yet another great review. We are glad you keep coming back and that we continue to live up to your standards. We are so excited to have you with and am glad you enjoyed your stay

Thank you for choosing the Windmill Suites in Surprise

Steven Rosario
General Manager
Windmill Suites Surprise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic 6 nights at this hotel.
Our room was large, clean and tidy. It was also well located overlooking the lovely lake.
We liked the 24 hour availability of fresh coffee to guests.
All the staff were very friendly and courteous.
We will definitely be back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We loved the room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wow! We were so impressed with this hotel! Initially, we chose it because we were traveling with our dog and Windmill didn't charge the usual pet fee that everyone else charges. We opened the door to our suite and again, Wow! Super clean, spacious, great circular/fluid floor plan---living room, master suite with pocket doors for privacy, bathroom with two separate sinks so that someone can use one while the other has seclusion in the shower area. Terrific mattress on our king size bed. Loads of pillows and sparkling white bedding. Got a great nights sleep. Real quiet. Mini kitchen area too with the usual coffee set up, mini fridge and microwave. The pool area was nice. The pool isn't massive, but big enough. Again, real clean with separate jacuzzi area. Plenty of lounge chairs, tables, chairs and umbrellas. They also didn't balk when we asked for a late check out. Turns out this is the only Windmill Suite Hotel around. Our loss too, because we'd definitely be staying in one at every opportunity. Really enjoyed our stay, wish it could've been longer. Loved our parting chat with the Australian Assistant Manager on our way out too! Great staff! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surprise
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Property: Windmill Suites in Surprise
Address: 12545 W Bell Rd, Surprise, AZ 85378-9736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surprise
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous hot breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, Eggs, Bacon, Gravy and Briskets, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing