We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Suites in Surprise
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

From the 75-cent-a-load, clean and attractive guest laundry to the immaculate parking areas to the spotless propane BBQ to the numerous in-suite mirrors ... and more! This is one of the cleanest, best-managed properties we've ever encountered world-wide. Marilyn and Breanna are indeed the "queens of client services" - they listen and follow-up on guest suggestions and are always available for advice, day or night.

The "included" breakfast is comprehensive and plentiful ... waffles, bacon, beef patties, scrambled eggs, yogurt, bread products, cereals and oatmeal. One suggestion ... perhaps some berry fruit or cut melons would be useful to augment the apples, oranges and bananas which are not the best breakfast fruit (IMHO).

The suites are spacious and exactly as advertised. The beds are exra-ordinarily comfortable and the rooms are quiet even though the freeway is really closeby. Perhaps the extensive lawns and pond muffle the traffic? The paintwork is fresh, the sitting area is comfortable and cupboard storage is great for a week-long stay. No, the TVs are NOT flat screens but they are scheduled to be replaced in 2014.

Maintenance in the property is ongoing. We were there during a slow period and the staff was always polishing the "brightwork", steaming the rugs or scouring the breakfast room. The ambiance is classic rather than contemporary - a refreshing change from the chains. The courtyard breakfast area features large, warm-colored tiles which are polished to a brilliant finish.

The Windmill Suites are close to a wide selection of restaurants along Bell Road and only 15 minutes from the Arrowhead Town Centre - maybe the best indoor shopping mall in Phoenix. We found the room rate to be very reasonable and would return - no question - if we ever return to the Phoenix area.

Murphypuss from Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    114
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
199
141
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am writing this while seated at the desk in my room at Windmill Inn and Suites. My wife and I came out from Atlanta for the difficult task of settling her uncle's estate and scattering his ashes. We knew we would be in the area for close to a week so we wanted somewhere that could be an "oasis" from the daily stresses of this arduous task. We looked on line at several places; some were way too expensive and others had frightening reviews. Trust me, we've stayed in some of those and we did not want to risk it so we relied on Trip Advisor. We walked in to a very clean and tidy lobby where we were met by a young man with an excellent command of the English language. Once checked in, he asked if we would like a wake up delivery of the local paper, coffee, juice and muffins. Wait...what, are they serious?!?!? They were, all we had to tell them was what time and what we would like. Coffee, juice, muffins AND the local paper! The true definition of customer service is to go beyond the customer's expectation of good service. Windmill Inn and Suites did this by light years and that was just during the check-in process. We discovered while going to our room a very clean and bright entry that only allows those with a key to come in, aka good security. We also found the halls to be well lit and exceptionally clean. Even the elevator looked and smelled like it had just been surgically scrubbed. When we entered our room, we quickly found it to be very spacious and again clean with a kitchenette, a separate bedroom and a large bathroom. The management and staff are not only professional but polite and helpful. There is no wonder why they have Trip Advisor awards for both 2012 and 2013. If I have anything to do with it, they will surely get 2014 as well. Most assuredly, any time I have to come back to this area, I will be staying here!

Room Tip: Just a quick heads up, they are located a block off the "main drag" of W. Bell Rd so you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 875BrianR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

5 stars
the room was fantastic, the are pet friendly
bed was out of this world. Desk
staff was excellent. My little dog and I had a
wonderful stay and will be back again. I don't have anything else to
say except during baseball training practice the rates double. Book
early if you know you are going to be there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onefunshoppinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the Windmill for six nights over the 2013 Thanksgiving holiday after having been guests in November 2012. We again had an excellent experience, but the property has a new owner and there were some changes which, although minor, were not positive. No more complimentary Wall Street Journal, just the local newspapers; no more rewards program for frequent guests; and a shortage of housekeeping staff for the day or two when the motel was full..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean & comfortable with a nice breakfast buffet included, for a great price! A short walk from KFC, Burger King & Luby's. Small suite but sufficient for a weekend stay.

My only "complaints" were a/c preset to 70 minimum and bathroom door latch was broken.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank want2go67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Windmill Suites in Surprise is a very nice hotel that I have stayed at several times. It is just a few miles from University of Phoenix Stadium so staying there for the Cardinals games is a real treat. The breakfasts are good and the pool and hotel are a nice way to unwind after a 6 hour drive. Marilyn and her staff are top notch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno,Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a surprise party. Loved having the separate living room with the fold out bed, my sister was traveling with my husband and me , so it was great she had a room with out having to stay all by her self. The breakfast was great, we ate it out by the pool.The room was clean , loved the frig,microwave, n coffee maker.the front desk was great , they printed out our boarding pass's for our flight home. If we ever go back to Surprise ,we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surprise hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Suites in Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites in Surprise

Property: Windmill Suites in Surprise
Address: 12545 West Bell Road, Surprise, AZ 85374
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surprise
#3 Family Hotel in Surprise
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windmill Suites in Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southwest style all-suite and all non-smoking hotel offers spacious accommodations blending luxury with genuine affordability and valuable amenities. Join us for our free generous hot breakfast featuring Belgian waffles, Eggs, Bacon, Gravy and Briskets, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Suites in Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites In Surprise Hotel Surprise
Windmill Hotel Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing