We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to ballpark, community library and dog park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient to ballpark, community library and dog park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Staff were helpful and friendly, room was clean and quiet. Two blocks away from Surprise Stadium where Spring Training MLB games are played. Stayed 4 nights to see baseball games. Pool outdoors was not heated and was too cool for a swim. WiFi was uneven but staff gave me tips to help.
Reserve early if Spring Training is your keen interest as hotel was full. A block of rooms were taken by Minor League administrators for the athletes aspiring to the Big League. The players were quiet, good-natured athletes who were facing curfews at night, so the hotel did not "rock on!" all night.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms but guests were not complaining or discussing them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
30
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stay at the Holiday Inn Express Surprise every year for Texas Rangers Spring Training. Always a wonderful experience! Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is always exceptional - helpful, friendly and earnestly caring! We did experience TV problems on this stay. Every time we turned off the TV, when we turned it on again, we had to unplug it and let it "reset" itself - a little annoying. But once it was actually on, it was fine. I reported it, so hopefully they will have it fixed before the next people check in. So, other than that little annoyance, everything was great. I'd definitely recommend it if you need accommodations in the Surprise area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and is very neat, clean and well maintained. We stayed here 1 night and would definitely stay here again. The bed is very high so if you are short it's a little challenging to get up on the bed but it was the most comfortable bed we had on our journey. The breakfast was also the best that we had on this trip. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They make you feel at home. The fan in the room was noisy when it came on and made the TV hard to hear when it was running. I would also ask for a room on the top floor and away from the elevator. We had a room right around the corner from the elevators and could hear people talking and rolling their luggage to the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a suite at this hotel January 2014 and liked the room which had 2 queen beds. Beds were firm but a bit too high for senior disabled citizens. Asked for a step stool and was given a step ladder which we couldn't use.

The free continental breakfast was good and had quite a selection. Staff was friendly and courteous. It is so convenient close to the Surprise stadium where the Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals do spring training.

It is also a short drive to restaurants and grocery stores so you can buy supplies like water and snacks. Catholic church is also not that far. Ample parking is available too at the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MUD143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
MUD143,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that our beds were a little high and that we did not have a step stool for you to use. I will make sure to pick a couple up from the store so that they are available for our guests. Again, thank you for your review.

Ian Galligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times since it opened. Our experience has been very positive. It's extremely clean and well maintained. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping are very friendly and helpful. They make us feel welcome....like we're special guests. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firebug1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Surprise, AZ. Right next to baseball stadium. Beautiful property, great staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel was completely full, but it was very quiet in the rooms. Nice outdoor area for walking and a nice pool area, although it was too cool for swimming while we were there.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor room just so there isn't noise above us, but not sure it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Value-wise, this was a good pick for a two day stay. We would imagine that when the Grapefruit League of baseball is in session, that prices are much higher. The hotel is adjacent to many sporting facilities especially baseball, which leads to a lot of teams staying there. To their credit, parents or organizers keep the aderelin fuelled sporting rush go an absolute minimum

A good room with coffee, micro, fridge, WIFI, flat screnn TV and well lit bathroom.
Sometimes the card locks to your room are inoperative. Thuis was a major pain in the [--] .

The reception was ok but oftentimes you had to wait for someone to notice that people are waiting.

There were a lot of squeaks, especially in the bed ( no laughing here). You can't turn over without a major groan from the bed.....or floor.

Breakfast in a large well lit room with fare on ther lower end of the healthy scale. The attendent was well behind the curve on getting required items out. A struggle to keep up with the in demand items. The breakfast area is very bpoorly laid out with all the food items and the only garbage can on the same wall. Lots of congestion.

Acceptable price but lacking in so many ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear trafdlo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. We were truly pleased to see your scores for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surprise
2.7 mi away
Windmill Suites in Surprise
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Property: Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Address: 16540 N Bullard Ave, Surprise, AZ 85374-7601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surprise
#6 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surprise Hotel Located in a Growing Community From booming business districts to breath-taking landscapes, the Surprise, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites neighbors attractions for every taste. Our Surprise hotel stands only thirty miles from downtown Phoenix, in one of the nation's fastest growing communities. Business travelers will enjoy our convenient location near Arizona's thriving businesses. Our Surprise, Arizona hotel near Phoenix's Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and Deer Valley Airport (DVT) makes it easier to travel in and out of the area. Our Greater Phoenix hotel is also located near many major businesses, such as Toyota, Volvo Ford and Daimler-Chrysler. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being surrounded by Speedworld Raceway, Glendale Arena , multiple top-rated golf courses and both Peoria and Surprise stadiums (Spring Training Center for Kansas Royals and Texas Rangers) . Visitors of our Surprise, AZ hotel can also head outdoors to hike Piestewa Peak's popular Summit Trail for a breath-taking view of the city or revel in the beauty of the Desert Botanical Garden's thriving plants. No matter where you go, our newly-built Surprise hotel rooms with free high-speed Internet access will always welcome you back for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Surprise Hotel Surprise
Surprise Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing