We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ynez, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times since it opened. Our experience has been very positive. It's extremely clean and well maintained. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping are very friendly and helpful. They make us feel welcome....like we're special guests. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firebug1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    53
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
35
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Surprise, AZ. Right next to baseball stadium. Beautiful property, great staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel was completely full, but it was very quiet in the rooms. Nice outdoor area for walking and a nice pool area, although it was too cool for swimming while we were there.

Room Tip: We always ask for a top floor room just so there isn't noise above us, but not sure it would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Value-wise, this was a good pick for a two day stay. We would imagine that when the Grapefruit League of baseball is in session, that prices are much higher. The hotel is adjacent to many sporting facilities especially baseball, which leads to a lot of teams staying there. To their credit, parents or organizers keep the aderelin fuelled sporting rush go an absolute minimum

A good room with coffee, micro, fridge, WIFI, flat screnn TV and well lit bathroom.
Sometimes the card locks to your room are inoperative. Thuis was a major pain in the [--] .

The reception was ok but oftentimes you had to wait for someone to notice that people are waiting.

There were a lot of squeaks, especially in the bed ( no laughing here). You can't turn over without a major groan from the bed.....or floor.

Breakfast in a large well lit room with fare on ther lower end of the healthy scale. The attendent was well behind the curve on getting required items out. A struggle to keep up with the in demand items. The breakfast area is very bpoorly laid out with all the food items and the only garbage can on the same wall. Lots of congestion.

Acceptable price but lacking in so many ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Surprise, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear trafdlo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time with us. We were truly pleased to see your scores for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a fastpitch softball tournament at Sunrise Farms. This is a great place to stay. It's a newer property, very clean and the staff is excellent. We used the pool and hot tub and they were both excellent. The hot breakfast is pretty standard for HI Express's; however, the staff working the breakfast kept everything clean and tidy and stocked. You won't be disappointed with this place.

Tip: This property is within walking distance to the Royal's Surprise spring training facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the non-street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was very pleased with our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Surprise Arizona. Our room was clean and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
The complimentary breakfast was varied each morning and the hostess was very friendly.

The location is central for anything in Surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilliert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are traveling to the phoenix area, This Is The Place To Stay! I have stayed at this location twice now and I love it. I often arrive late night after long driving days but always feel safe on the property. It is close to fun shopping and yummy restaurants. Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniago, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We are moving to the area and needed a place for my wife and I and our 3 year old. We got a great deal through expedia. Our daughter loved the pool and we all enjoyed the breakfast bar and all the free coffee.

The only thing that could be better is an upgrade to the fitness center. It is all very close to dining and a huge movie theater.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heaton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surprise hotels
2.7 mi away
Windmill Suites in Surprise
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Property: Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Address: 16540 N Bullard Ave, Surprise, AZ 85374-7601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surprise
#6 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surprise Hotel Located in a Growing Community From booming business districts to breath-taking landscapes, the Surprise, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites neighbors attractions for every taste. Our Surprise hotel stands only thirty miles from downtown Phoenix, in one of the nation's fastest growing communities. Business travelers will enjoy our convenient location near Arizona's thriving businesses. Our Surprise, Arizona hotel near Phoenix's Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and Deer Valley Airport (DVT) makes it easier to travel in and out of the area. Our Greater Phoenix hotel is also located near many major businesses, such as Toyota, Volvo Ford and Daimler-Chrysler. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being surrounded by Speedworld Raceway, Glendale Arena , multiple top-rated golf courses and both Peoria and Surprise stadiums (Spring Training Center for Kansas Royals and Texas Rangers) . Visitors of our Surprise, AZ hotel can also head outdoors to hike Piestewa Peak's popular Summit Trail for a breath-taking view of the city or revel in the beauty of the Desert Botanical Garden's thriving plants. No matter where you go, our newly-built Surprise hotel rooms with free high-speed Internet access will always welcome you back for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Surprise Hotel Surprise
Surprise Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing