We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy rooms & good breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Surprise
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My hubby & I went to Surprise for the night & this Holiday Inn was perfect. Check in went smoothly, our room was clean & beds comfy! Breakfast buffet was plentiful & coffee hot. Only complaint would be the water pressure of the shower was disappointing.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank grapebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel provides a typical American welcome. Staff are very charismatic and warm, it does brighten the day. And it always help to have cheerful staff manning the breakfast area, it makes simple meals tasted great.

I have no hassle with check in and out. Thanks for being prompt. Room was well-kept and comfortable,

Great place to stay, except the distance to the mall. There don't seem to be able to get a taxi to the nearest mall. I walked there and back for 2 nights. Always wish that there were ferry services

All in all, well done for making me feel at home.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Fook L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Been to a lot of hotels but I have to say I don't know how you could beat the customer service.- Very friendly and accomodating.

The facility is top rate. Great breakfast and accomodations. Although we were there a little early for baseball (on business) a few ball players were there and prepping for Spring training.

Great job to the management!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent management and wonderful staff. During our brief stay, my entire family was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy. The facilities were utilized for a family gathering from many parts of the country, and all felt comfortable and welcome upon arrival as well as during their stay.

Thank you to all!

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay, the staff here was well trained, courteous and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRTowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Came to town on a whim to visit a friend, so at first I only had one night booked. I ended up extending for the rest of the week, and they were kind enough to reduce my rate for that time. Everyone at the front desk is super helpful, and the place was clean.

Walls were a little thin, as they tend to be in hotels. Also, the bathroom water was very high in chlorine; I smelled like a swimming pool throughout my trip.

Still, the pros outweigh the cons, and this is yet another straightforward and satisfying Holiday Inn Express location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylealanhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My hubs and I traveled to the Phoenix International Raceway for the Fall NASCAR race. Since we had a great experience at another HIE in March, we decided to stay at this location based on a combination of price and location. We arrived there after a long day in the sun and were instantly wowed. The Hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms were just beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. As soon as we stepped in the doors I was sad that I had changed our reservation from two nights to one, thinking we'd prefer to head back home. It felt like a little spa location...

The staff went out of their way to cater to our needs. When my hubs had trouble with the FREE WiFi, he was able to speak to someone in tech support who fixed him right up. The bed was clean and super comfortable with several pillows to choose from. We were located at the end of a hallway and had a very restful noise free sleep. The bathroom was very clean and met our needs. The television was a nice large flat screen with many viewing options. Breakfast was provided the following day and was "ok". There were nice cereals, fruits, pastries and juices to choose from which we did. The pancake maker was strange and didn't work exactly right for us and the pancake flavor was no bueno. I had never seen eggs made like they were (can't explain it) but they were actually tasty. Overall the breakfast met our needs to get us going for the day.

Checkout was a breeze and we received an accurate receipt with no issues. My one point of concern was that I noticed something weird on my bank statement the following week after our return. Still to this day I don't know what it was, but after it fell off I was fine. My issue is that when I called for help, the front desk folks were unable to do so and suggested that I contact the reservation department I used to make the reservation (the 800 #). I was unable to speak with the hotel manager who was "in a meeting". They told me he wouldn't call me back that day. This irritated me because you are talking about MY money and while I concede that it didn't seem like an error on their part nor could the person find the error...to me customer service dictates you make sure you make it right and immediately when we are talking about money. To make it worse, the manager NEVER called me the next day or ever to follow up with me. I called and straightened everything out with the 800# and the issue was explained and fixed. But I didn't like the way the actual location handled my concerns.

All in all, yes I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamelinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 4 days in January /2013
What a Great Hotel - New and Modern with extremely comfortable Beds!! Breakfast Buffet was fresh and attended to all thru the morning with everything from cold cereal choices to oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, Fresh Cinnamon Rolls, sausage & biscuits w/ Gravy. Toast, Bagels and pancake maker.... Juice, Milk coffee tea and hot chocolate - enjoyable-Convenient and a very nice way to start the day
The pool was Small by some hotel standards but not too small. My Family spent hours enjoying swimming and the hot tub outside.

Close to main Road for restraunts and Shopping Malls - There is a nice mini store on site that had all the snacks and munchies the kids could need including ice cream.

Front desk Staff was kind and Friendly special Refrence to Derrick who continually went above and beyond. Holiday Inn Express Surprise should be Happy to have such a great Customer Service Advocate on their Staff/Front Lines.
Housekeeping Staff were very Thorough and Friendly in the Halls. I really noticed how perfect the beds were made up, tight and crisp.

This brings me to my only Dissapointment- no Star of the Week or Honorable Staff Mention cards in the Rooms- I honestly think its important your Customers let you know when an Employee Stands out- and Holiday Inn Staffers would love to know when they do a Great Job!! I hope Management looks at adding these cards to each Room.

We will definitely be back. I have a new Favorite Holiday Inn
-Platinum Priority Club Member

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Saskatchewanbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surprise hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Phoenix Surprise
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix NW/Surprise
2.6 mi away
Windmill Suites in Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Surprise
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of the Sun Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Surprise

Address: 16540 N Bullard Ave, Surprise, AZ 85374-7601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Surprise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surprise
#6 Business Hotel in Surprise
Price Range: $121 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Surprise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Surprise Hotel Located in a Growing Community From booming business districts to breath-taking landscapes, the Surprise, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites neighbors attractions for every taste. Our Surprise hotel stands only thirty miles from downtown Phoenix, in one of the nation's fastest growing communities. Business travelers will enjoy our convenient location near Arizona's thriving businesses. Our Surprise, Arizona hotel near Phoenix's Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and Deer Valley Airport (DVT) makes it easier to travel in and out of the area. Our Greater Phoenix hotel is also located near many major businesses, such as Toyota, Volvo Ford and Daimler-Chrysler. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being surrounded by Speedworld Raceway, Glendale Arena , multiple top-rated golf courses and both Peoria and Surprise stadiums (Spring Training Center for Kansas Royals and Texas Rangers) . Visitors of our Surprise, AZ hotel can also head outdoors to hike Piestewa Peak's popular Summit Trail for a breath-taking view of the city or revel in the beauty of the Desert Botanical Garden's thriving plants. No matter where you go, our newly-built Surprise hotel rooms with free high-speed Internet access will always welcome you back for a relaxing dip in our outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Surprise Hotel Surprise
Surprise Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Surprise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing