We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very fresh authentic asian regional food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ann's Asian Bistro and Bar

Ann's Asian Bistro and Bar
Ranked #41 of 184 Restaurants in Surprise
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
610 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Very fresh authentic asian regional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

2nd time here, this time for dinner. You can refer back to my lunch review which was great. You just can't go wrong here. Great menu full of appetizers, rice and noodle dishes, great meat fish and vegetarian dishes , a nice combination of cantonese, chinese, thai, asian ,vegan and gluten free dishes to choose from and as spicy or mild as you wish. They also have dinner specials and a bar. Take out available. To start we tried the sampler platter, nice presentation, egg rolls which were very fresh, a little greasy but still very fresh and tasty, fried shrimp had a light breading very tasty, crab puffs again tasty and chicken skewers which had a mild mustard sauce grilled on it, very tasty also. Then went on to the Cantonese Chow Fun, Rice Noodle dish with beef,shrimp chicken and veggies with a nice tasty gravy. Good size shrimp, tender meat and chicken, huge portion. Also had the Fu Jen Fried Rice dish with shrimp,scallops,shitake mushrooms and a great gravy.This was also a very large portion, both took a bag home and enjoyed the next day. Very freshly cut, it did take longer to get the Fried Rice dish to the table, but they do cut everything as ordered, super fresh and take pride in it, all very well worth the very reasonable prices for the upgraded large portion delicious food. Why go to those chain places, wait in long lines for generic food,when you can go to a great family run , very friendly addition to Surprise. After 2 visits we won't stop coming here, this will be our place for cantonese dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This asian cuisine is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ann's Asian Bistro has wonderful food. They offer many options for people for their orders. The owner is really nice also. One of the best Asian Restaurants I have ever eaten at.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rainydaywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We tried Ann's this past weekend and it was delicious! Ann's Fried Rice was very authentic and had tons of flavor without the typical soy-sauce overload of most fried rice. The Kung Pao fish was recommended to us by our server and did not disappoint. We also ate the pot stickers as an appetizer and they were a great starter.

We ate outside on the patio since the weather was beautiful. Other than a kid running around from a neighboring restaurant, the outside dining was nice - plenty of shade and the fountain was aesthetically enjoyable.

We will definitely return to try more menu items!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgs106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will Never Go Back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We first ordered drinks. My wife ordered a Crown Royal with a splash of seltzer. The waitress comes out with a full glass of seltzer and a shot glass of Crown (for $9 which is pricey even for Crown) We started with their sampler appetizer. Skewer chicken was like leather, egg rolls were definitely frozen from a box and had no taste, the crab puffs had imitation crab and tasted terrible and then there were two other deep fried very thin pieces which I think should have been stuffed with cream cheese. There was nothing in them. That was enough for us. We didn't want to take a chance and waste our money on dinner so paid and left. First and last time visiting Ann's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmkb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was the second time we have gone to Ann's Asian Bistro. We were there two weeks ago and had to go again before we leave.The food was very good, fresh, served hot, and very tasty. I highly recommend the orange zest chicken and the candied walnut shrimp. The portions were generous. I thought the wine was a little over priced for a box wine so will not order the wine again. We sat on the patio which was nice as it is close to the fountain in the group of buildings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdellehein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ann's Asian Bistro and Bar also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ann's Asian Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing