We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mold in the urinal: bad sign!!”
Review of Nick's Diner

Nick's Diner
Ranked #35 of 188 Restaurants in Surprise
Cuisines: American, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mold in the urinal: bad sign!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was really looking forward to eating at Nick's since we have heard good things about Nick's. Our group of 6 was sadly disappoionted by the service and food, although the prices in this no-frills place are quite reasonable. Our group's comments follow: Hamburger (good); lamb shank (OK); gyros salad (too salty); fish and chips (good); sphaghetti and meatballs (lousy); chicken pita (over-salted and delivered with no sauce 5 minutes after everyone else had been served). The topper was my visit to the restroom after our meal where I found the urinal ringed with mold and other signs of lack of cleanliness. One can only imagine the kitchen. "They" say that breakfast is good and hearty, but I won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TomLuchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor quality service, so so food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

the food is so so, but the the witresses are surly and the food is poorly presentsed, usually sloped over the sides of the plates. we quit ging there. it would be so easy to do it right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Reasonable prices!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If want fancy food in a fancy restaurant with ambiance; this is not your place. If you want regular food served in a very clean diner, at a reasonable price, which tastes great; this is the place for you.
The serve staff is friendly and can tell you anything you want to know about what is on the menu. My wife and I usually have what ever is the special for that day. We have never been disappointed with anything we have tried..
This is not just a great breakfast place, lunch place, or dinner place. They do a great job on all three meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for American Breakfast: A 'Keeper' for Next Time.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Three of us ate breakfast at both "Nick's" in Surprise on a recent family trip to Phoenix. Our first visit was so good that we returned on two further occasions, once at Nick's II. On all three occasions we came away not needing lunch for about $10/person including beverage, main dish and gratuity. Service was very good, with frequent top-ups on coffee. The food was excellent. I had a western omelette on the first visit, home-made corned-beef hash on the second, eggs Benedict on the third accompanied each time by home fried potatoes and rye toast. This meant I sampled eggs three ways: scrambled, "up" and poached. Each time they were perfectly cooked. High praise when so many omelettes are rubbery and poached eggs turn out like baseballs. The potatoes were excellent and the toast generously buttered. The waitress warned me that their hash had peppers and onions. Not sure I would pick it again, but that is a personal choice and there are plenty of other options if you aren't sure. There are also less expensive breakfast specials for the not-so-hungry diner. Excellent quality and value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJEUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oompah!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

One of my favorite places to eat. Whether you are looking for a great breakfast, lunch or dinner...Nick's truly has it all. The staff are all friendly and fun. The owner remembers all of his regular customers and spends time with each as he makes his rounds, insuring everyone is happy with their meal!

A combination of Greek, Italian and American fare...there is something for everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Diner also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nick's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing