We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granite Falls Golf Course

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Granite Falls Golf Course
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Surprise
Attraction details
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

There are two courses at Granite Falls....The South Course and The North Course. Both are good tests although I believe the North Course is the most difficult of the two.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top notch Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Granite Falls has 2 courses, the North and the South. Both courses were in great shape. The courses are very different but both were challenging. The Pro shop staff was very accommodating. The Pro Shop had an outstanding clothing and shoe selection.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pattifromsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
“Once you get on the course, all is well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

As part of our 2012 golf trip to the Phoenix area, we returned to “an oldie but a goodie” for our final round, as we head to Surprise for an 8:00 shotgun start on Granite Falls North. When we first started going to Phoenix for golf back in 2000, Granite Falls was a standard course for us. However after a few years they closed their doors to public play, so we had to move on (you had to be a resident or be a guest of a resident to play…not an issue as there are plenty of other courses in the area). On a whim, I called to see if they had reopened to the public and sure enough we were able to get in on their morning shotgun start.

The downside of the place is that it does not have the friendliest of staff and the patrons were downright rude. However, the lady driving the beverage cart was very pleasant and she even remarked that the “locals” are not very nice. This is a course in a golf community, so perhaps they just do not like outsiders. But once we were out on the course, it was just us four hackers, so no one bothered us and we bothered no one else. So all was well.

The course was in great shape. Very green and lush. No dormant Bermuda here. The common theme of wildlife that we had encountered on the courses throughout our week in Arizona continued as there were prairie dogs and rabbits, lots of birds (ducks, geese, woodpeckers, jays) and we saw a pack (4-5) coyotes on hole 16. Healthy looking critters; probably fat off the rabbits and prairie dogs.

We really like this course. It was just as nice as we remembered it (the last time we played it was in 2004). The condition is an obvious advantage, but it also has nice practice facilities, and an interesting layout that is right out in front of you. Nothing tricked-up or contrived. The course is well marked. The sprinkler heads have distances to front, middle and back of the green. There are also 150 yard poles in the middle of the fairways (on the long holes there are also 250 yard poles). These make for great targets or aiming points off the tees for for a lay-up.

As mentioned, the course is part of the golf (retirement) community of Sun City Grand. There are four courses affiliated with the community: Granite Falls North and South, Desert Springs and Cimarron. We played them all back in the early 2000s and enjoyed each course. If the others are as nice today as Granite Falls North, then they are all worth playing. BTW, we paid $92 (before tax) for 18 holes and cart on Granite Falls North. We were planning on playing Grantie Falls South in the afternoon; a late afternoon tee-time for 18 with cart was less than $50 (however, we opted not to play and watched some college hoops instead).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I play the South course at Granite Falls whenever I am in Surprise. Really pretty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank polith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite Falls Golf Course also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Granite Falls Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing