We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A family favorite for years!”

Macayo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #62 of 185 Restaurants in Surprise
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at Bell and Reems Roads, we're one of many Macayo's family owned and locally operated restaurants. Happy Hour: a Macayo's Fiesta 3:30-6:30 Mon-Fri When You're Hungry for Tradition! Hours: mon-thu 11-10 ,fri-sat 11-12, sun 8-10:30 am
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A family favorite for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

While many family Christmas gatherings require a turkey or ham, in our family it's green corn tamales, cheese and chicken enchiladas from Macayo's! And, of course, lunches and dinner all through the year at Macayo's are frequent. Prices are good, service is attentive and the food are excellent. And then the salsa, ahhhhh, that salsa makes my mouth water! Macayo's is an Arizona tradition with several locations throughout the Valley. I believe we've managed to eat at all of them. One cannot leave the Valley of the Sun without enjoying good Mexican food, and Macayo's rates among the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    27
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
143 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is really, really good. We love the carnitas, whether in a burrito, chimi, or as a plate item. The burritos are all meat, no filler like rice or beans. If you like things more spicy, you can add to it, or ask the kitchen to spice it up for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice family atmosphere. Good food at a reasonable cost. I have been here several times and will definately go again. There are many southwestern fare establishments in the area, and this one stands out as one of the better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were driving down the street and noticed Macayo's and based only on the exterior we decided to try it.

We enjoyed the food and atmosphere at Macayo's and would recommend it to our friends.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Insult to Mexican Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Macayo's reminds me of the Tacos my mother used to buy in a box. Everything is bland, bland, bland. The salsa they serve is basically pureed tomatos with a splash of green in it . The green must be green pepper and not jalepenos.

Many people in Phoenix rave about the food here. They probably have not tasted good Mexican food or else they are from Minnesota where salt and pepper are the extent of the spices.

After living in El Paso with its' many great Mexican restaurants this place is not worthy of being called a Mexican Kitchen.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macayo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Macayo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing