We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macayo's Mexican Kitchen

Macayo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #55 of 184 Restaurants in Surprise
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at Bell and Reems Roads, we're one of many Macayo's family owned and locally operated restaurants. Happy Hour: a Macayo's Fiesta 3:30-6:30 Mon-Fri When You're Hungry for Tradition! Hours: mon-thu 11-10 ,fri-sat 11-12, sun 8-10:30 am
AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The margaritas were low quality and couldn't finish it. Food seafood dish not very good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstLadyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    41
    25
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in 68 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I were tired, hungary and looking for good food close to home in Surprise. We got the best ever. Macayo's has a Chipotle B-B-Q pork chimis that is the best ever and the beans with it are the best ever. Every bite was the best ever and the giant portion last me all day. Way to go Macayo's

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DallenC31373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food, but overbearing server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

The food was fine, but the server was too eager to take our order even after we asked for more time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Usually good food, but the temperature is not consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We like Macayos Mexican food and have a few favorites on their menu that we order every time. Unfortunately, the food is sometimes only lukewarm even though the plates are too hot to touch. When you go, ask your server to tell the kitchen to be sure the filling in your burro is hot.
We like the salsa but sometimes the chips are cold and broken. Ask for fresh ones, they'll bring them to you. The iced tea is very good, not weak or watered down.
Try the vegetables instead of refried beans or rice, they are very good and have always been cooked just right.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Macayo's Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have been to this locations several times and always find the food and service excellent. I especially love the fish tacos. I have never had a meal I was not happy with. Servers are always upbeat and efficient.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macayo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Macayo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing