We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good!”

Babbo Italian Eatery
Ranked #5 of 190 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Good!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A group of "us girls" went out to eat one Friday night. It was a little hard to find since the sign on the building was not lit up but once we found it was open and were seated, we were glad to be inside. The atmosphere was "Friday night after work" noisy, and tables were full, but we had a reservation to get us a seat right away.
We each ordered something different and every one of us enjoyed a delicious meal; not one complaint among the nine of us girls! We all want to go back to get what the others had enjoyed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doodeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    108
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bellisimo Babbo”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Babbo is one of our favorite places for really good, fresh Italian food. Their salads are creative and tasty and I could eat their calzones every night of the week. Portions are generous and the service is friendly and attentive. I only wish they had a bigger place since so many people love it there it is always crowded and sometimes a little wait.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Italian”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first night, the hotel reception recommended this establishment. It was packed at supper but as everyone wanted the patio, we were seated immediately. Service is immediate and good. The noise level is quite high making simple conversation difficult.

We ordered a simple Fired Pepper and Italian sausage pizza. It came piping hot within an expected period. The crust was a stunning in-house prepared thin crust topped with great toppings in the traditional Tuscan style. One of the better pizzas we have had in quite a while.

We went back the next night as we were really tired; they were close to our hotel; and, we wanted to see if they were a one-hit-wonder. We tried their pasta dishes. Both dishes were hot and very tasty but over salted. But the traditional North American habit of swamping the pasta with sauce happened much to the detriment of the dish. The pasta is the star of the dish not swimming in a soup-like sauce. Also the pasta was overcooked and salty sauce was again combined to make the pastas a losing proposition.

The pizza was a winner; the pasta not so much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Tuesday night Spagetti Special”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Come early or you will be waiting for a long time. Tuesday you get a huge plate of spaghetti with two large meatballs. Great food and good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have eaten here several times they have a location close to my home. My favorites are their salads, check them out you wont be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LauraFoudray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbo Italian Eatery also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Babbo Italian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing