We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with the tiramisu”

Babbo Italian Eatery
Ranked #5 of 190 Restaurants in Surprise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Avondale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In love with the tiramisu”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The one con I can find for Babbo is that everything there run on the expensive side. I haven't had any issues with service, sometimes you may have to wait a few minutes for a seat or for your server to get to you but they're busy so it is not like you're being ignored. My favorite things are the creamy mushroom and asparagus penne and the tiramisu. I cannot say enough about the tiramisu, it's delicious and worth day dreaming about.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WonkyPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    108
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food...And in Our Neighborhood...”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not having to drive significant distance to have great Italian food... what a treat.

Service was a challenge on one visit, but the food has consistently been excellent. Not cheap...but very good... (prices are not horrible, just not cheap).

Somewhat squishy when packed, as there may be too many tables for the space, but again not horrible.

Focus on the food and this place is very good...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey-Priscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They lost us as long time customers”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have been patronizing this restaurant for years but their decision to charge extra for a bit of butter or a little extra salad dressing, has stopped us in our tracks. Whoever thought this was a good idea must be crazy. Customers don't go for this kind of stuff. We now have eaten at several other restaurants in town and NOT one of them charges extra for condiments! Sorry, Babbos - you've lost good customers. I hope it is worth it to you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KatPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The girls had gourmet pizzas. My steak and blue cheese salad was terrific. We ate at a shady outdoor table. A very nice experience. We were seated immediately during the dinner rush mid week.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hughwgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You are crazy to go here! Terrible, terrible food and awful atmosphere”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We tried this restaurant because of the reviews. It is down right terrible. The spaghetti is just like it comes out of a can. Plastic glasses. There is absolutely no ambience whatsoever. This place is so bad it makes eating at Walmart look great. Don't waste your time or money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hall1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbo Italian Eatery also viewed

Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 
Surprise, Central Arizona
Surprise, Central Arizona
 

Been to Babbo Italian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing